We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,877)
Filter reviews
7,877 results
Traveller rating
2,087
3,283
1,567
610
330
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,087
3,283
1,567
610
330
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal bathsgrand old hotelfree entryliberty bridgeclassic hotelthe riverart nouveauseen better dayshotel guestsbeautiful buildingbuda sidebreakfast was excellentexcellent locationtram stopbreakfast roompublic transportspa
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 7,877 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Excellent hotel with its hundred-year history.Chisto.Comfortno.Bolshie rooms.High ceilings.Good, wide bed.Ortopedic mattress.We had an excellent view of the Danube! Delicious breakfast! Pleasant bonus, one visit to the bath!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank svitlanat2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear svitlanat2018,

Allow us to express our thankfulness to you for being so kind to write a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy to learn that you had such a pleasant stay in Danubius Hotel Gellért, we hope that during your next visit in Budapest, we will have the opportunity of being your host again, you can be completely sure that you will meet the same, high quality of everything. It made us proud that you highlighted the wonderful view which can be seen from the hotel, once you see it, you will never forget it. On top of that, it felt nice that you were also entirely satisfied with the rich breakfast that we offer to our visitors, as well as with the unique charm of Danubius Hotel Gellért.

We are looking forward very much to hosting you again one day, we will wait you with warm welcome all the time.

Best regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Having read some other reviews I wasn't sure what to expect !! But on arrival any concerns I had disappeared , the staff from getting out of the cab in front of the hotel until the time we left were fantastic, pleasant ,polite and helpful .
We stayed in a river view room which was large and spacious and the views didn't disappoint either !!
Breakfast was amazing so much choice we didn't know where to start ....
We used the spa and the robes in the room were very handy for this, don't forget your flip flops and bathing cap as both are compulsory in the spa area (cap in indoor pool) also had a Thai massage which was great.
The hotel is situated only a short walk away from the indoor market and up the hill is the citadel both worth a look .

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Derek B,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude to you for this kind review, it is always nice to read so positive feedbacks.

It made us so proud that you enjoyed so much your recent stay in Danubius Hotel Gellért, we sincerely hope that you were enriched by a lot of beautiful memories during the short time you spent here. It felt amazing that you complimented the friendliness and the professionalism of our workers, they always strive to do their best to win the total pleasure of our workers. Moreover, we are happy to hear that you also mentioned the rich breakfast that we offer to our visitors, as well as the nice bath area.

To cut a long story short, it was a pleasure to host you, we would be really happy to greet you again one day.

Best wishes,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

First class visit, very helpful, professional and friendly staff always willing to go the extra mile.
Very clean and comfortable beds for an old hotel.
An old hotel with real character.lovely.
Breakfast choice unbelievable. Many thanks Danubius Hotel Gellert.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenhD854RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear stephenhD854RI,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Danubius Hotel Gellért during your recent visit to the gorgeous capital of Hungary, and for taking the time to share this honest review with us and with the future travelers.

The building has an amazing architecture and atmosphere, moreover, we are luckily close to the center, yet in a friendlier neighborhood, connected to one of the most famous baths of Hungary, where we offer a single free ticket to our guests. Nothing is better than returning to the hotel after a long day and spending some time in one of the pools, and relaxing there a bit.

I hope that you will choose again this charming place as your accommodation if your plans bring you back to Budapest anytime in the future.

Warm regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Lovely hotel in very central position with view of Danube. Really enjoyed the thermal baths. Very good service and excellent breakfast. Helpful staff and very comfortable room. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Candida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Candida S,

Thank you for posting this perfect review on Tripadvisor. Feedbacks like yours give us motivation to keep up our standards and to continue doing what we are doing. I am so proud that you rated Danubius Hotel Gellért with the maximum points possible.

To begin with, I am delighted that you were content with our venue and I truly hope you could make the most of your stay in Budapest.
Moreover, it seems to us that you did really appreciate the direct access from the hotel to the thermal baths, we are glad you enjoyed your time there. Nothing is better than returning to the hotel after a long day and spending some time in one of the pools, and relaxing there a bit.

Last, but not least, we would like to thank you very much for your kind words concerning the spacious and comfortable rooms.
It was a pleasure to host you, we hope that you will return to us again in the future, we will always do our best to win your pleasure.

Kind regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

My 2nd time in this hotel and probably the last time , my 1st time was between 11.2 till 17.2.16 then I booked 2 rooms and this time 3 room my parents got the room 325 the good thing about this room is the view and the rest is awful, rustiness all over the place , the mattress in the room I think is since building was built , also the same story with room 324, I mean probably if you book 3 rooms for one week maybe you should get some complimentary or something but definitely not in Gellert , and by the way , it’s time to renovate this hotel , I said it’s my 2nd in a row in this hotel and probably the last one.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tudorbucataru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear tudorbucataru,

Let us thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is wonderful you shared your experience with our team. Furthermore, we are happy you chose our hotel as your accommodation. We try to provide a perfect holiday to our guests. It is wonderful to read that you chose our place to stay at when you were in Budapest again for the second time.

On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the condition of the facility. We are working on improvements, therefore, thank you for informing us about this issue. We are grateful for your comment.
However, as you kindly mentioned, we have an outstanding location and the view that comes with that. Next to the Danube allows us to offer rooms with spectacular view. It is wonderful you enjoyed the sight.

Thank you again for the rating. We would be happy if you would visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews