We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,135)
Filter reviews
6,135 results
Traveller rating
4,129
1,503
338
101
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,129
1,503
338
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge paris restaurant luxury room river view club room famous chain perfect location breakfast buffet excellent hotel buda castle royal palace across the river the executive lounge an upgrade christmas market junior suite four seasons
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 6,135 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon booking a short trip to Budapest I decided to branch out to a five star hotel in the hope of a bit of superior service, comfort and luxury! Nothing could have been further from the truth! I have never felt so badly treated!! Went down for Saturday morning breakfast and duly made my order!! Selected my croissants and after 30 minutes or so noticed people coming in 20 minutes after me and being served! Spoke to two staff members about non service of my breakfast and and both said they would look into it and that was it! Spoke to restaurant manager who was apologetic and sadly no cooked breakfast so walked out in disgust!! Sunday morning went to ground floor restaurant after bad experience upstairs and ordered breakfast again only scrambled egg and fried tomatoes!! Waited nearly 20 minutes for scramble egg no tomatoes! Tried to explain to non English speaking waiter part of order missing so he called a waitress across! She left after I explained predicament to her and came back with same plate!! Still no fried tomatoes!! By this time it was 10:30am and waiter told me to leave as preparing for lunch!! Beautiful hotel in stunning location! Sad I have paid for two breakfasts and have only managed croissants so far!! Still have tomorrow morning left!! Will stick with the Hilton next time which is cheaper! Give this place a miss!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Evanses12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel.
However, it was with regret to read that we caused you disappointment in regards of the service received during your breakfasts. We totally understand that all this has resulted in an uncomfortable experience with us, that we would like to sincerely apologize for. We do apologizes as well for the communication received from our colleagues.
Please be ensured that we take your comments very seriously, therefore our colleague will be in contact with you directly to discuss this matter for further details.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is 4 pm and we are still waiting for our room to be available. We are part of an AMA Waterways river cruise. No free drinks offered while we wait.

Location is good. Right on the Danube River across from the Royal Palace.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank nlskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the excellent location of our hotel.
However, we are truly sorry that we caused you disappointment due to the waiting time for the room, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. Please allow us to ensure you that this was a true exception to our normal high standards and we took the appropriate measures to address the issue in order to prevent such cases happen in the future and improve on our services.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a 5 star hotel, service is poor. I would understand if it was a 2 star hotel that they treat customers extra care. We were looking for a box to put in our extra baggage but they never cared and just say they dont have and never tried to look for one. we were having a hard time with our luggages but they just looked at us and even offered to help us.
aside from that, we were requesting to borrow an adaptor to charge our phones but they wont let us borrow but insteead sell it at around 12 euros! An adaptor outside would just cost 50 cents in euros.
If this is their kind of service, they should be treated as a 3 star hotel. I don't know if this has somethng to do with our race since we are asians...

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CMYuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for taking the time to tell us about your experiences with us.
However, it is with deepest regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the service received and you experienced inconveniences due to the luggage assistance, such as due to the adapters, that we would like to sincerely apologize for. We totally understand that all these have resulted in an uncomfortable experience with us, that we are truly sorry for, while kindly let us ensure you that it was not our colleagues’ intention to treat you improperly.
Kindly be ensured, that your comments were forwarded to the respective head of department in order to prevent future occurrence and improve on our services.
We appreciate you sharing your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed four nights in the Sofitel Chain Bridge. The geographical situation is incredible and I was gasping every night about the view out of the window. I really would like to mention at this point: Alexandra Nyiredy. This young guest-relation officer was doing during our stay a service wich I would expect in the Plaza Athénée in Paris. She was paying attention to each word from us and she did arrange a wounderful birthday surprise for my girlfriend. Thank you kindly Alexandra for making our stay unique, I will never forget this!

I would like to mention: Gábor Aradi (F&B Supervisor). This gentleman had every morning the power to make your feel welcome. I would hope there would be a person in every breakfast area in a five star hotel. As well he was speaking in a very professional way to his ambassadors. A real superior in his business.

Outstanding and charming service, well trained ambassador is Viktoria Fehèr; After one day she did know our preferences for beverage;

Thank you Sofitel Budapest - you have been more than a five star hotel!

Yours sincerely,

Martin

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the chain bridge (5th Floor!)
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MatinJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review, we thoroughly appreciate your positive feedback.
We proudly shared your fantastic feedback with our entire Ambassador team, which is a super encouragement for our future work! Of course, Alexandra from the Guest Relations, Viktória from the Breakfast team and Gábor Aradi our F&B supervisor were more than happy about your kind words.
We are more than happy to know that we could contribute to make your stay unique in Budapest and you were satisfied with the excellent service received from our Ambassadors.
Thank you so much for recommending us and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again!

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge hotel in Budapest for two nights before beginning a river cruise. The hotel was quite modern and well appointed. It was a perfect location for starting our river cruise and was also handy for getting about the city.
The staff were all helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was certainly large enough offered a great view of the chain bridge and river. Pricing seemed reasonable for the location and all that was offered.

Room Tip: Simply ask.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 567dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews