We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,174)
Filter reviews
6,174 results
Traveller rating
4,149
1,519
340
102
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,149
1,519
340
102
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge paris restaurant luxury room river view club room famous chain perfect location breakfast buffet excellent hotel buda castle across the river the executive lounge an upgrade christmas market junior suite four seasons beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 6,174 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We stayed four nights in the Sofitel Chain Bridge. The geographical situation is incredible and I was gasping every night about the view out of the window. I really would like to mention at this point: Alexandra Nyiredy. This young guest-relation officer was doing during our stay a service wich I would expect in the Plaza Athénée in Paris. She was paying attention to each word from us and she did arrange a wounderful birthday surprise for my girlfriend. Thank you kindly Alexandra for making our stay unique, I will never forget this!

I would like to mention: Gábor Aradi (F&B Supervisor). This gentleman had every morning the power to make your feel welcome. I would hope there would be a person in every breakfast area in a five star hotel. As well he was speaking in a very professional way to his ambassadors. A real superior in his business.

Outstanding and charming service, well trained ambassador is Viktoria Fehèr; After one day she did know our preferences for beverage;

Thank you Sofitel Budapest - you have been more than a five star hotel!

Yours sincerely,

Martin

Room tip: Ask for a view to the chain bridge (5th Floor!)
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MatinJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review, we thoroughly appreciate your positive feedback.
We proudly shared your fantastic feedback with our entire Ambassador team, which is a super encouragement for our future work! Of course, Alexandra from the Guest Relations, Viktória from the Breakfast team and Gábor Aradi our F&B supervisor were more than happy about your kind words.
We are more than happy to know that we could contribute to make your stay unique in Budapest and you were satisfied with the excellent service received from our Ambassadors.
Thank you so much for recommending us and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again!

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge hotel in Budapest for two nights before beginning a river cruise. The hotel was quite modern and well appointed. It was a perfect location for starting our river cruise and was also handy for getting about the city.
The staff were all helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was certainly large enough offered a great view of the chain bridge and river. Pricing seemed reasonable for the location and all that was offered.

Room tip: Simply ask.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 567dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

After 6 weeks in Europe my wife and I finished with a few days in Budapest. As Accor members I decided to "splurge" for our last few nights and stay in a suite at the Sofitel Chain Bridge, promising views of the river and castle at at night. When we arrived to check in it was too early for our room, so we left our bags and asked they be put in room when it was ready and we would explore Budapest. Upon arriving back at 4 pm, we got our keys to a suite only to find a few disappointing things - firstly no luggage, and no-one could find it after 1 hour, so I had to go downstairs and get it myself (exactly where we left it at reception when we arrived), secondly the sofa in the he lounge room of the suite was a sofa bed and the cushions to sit on it were so thin you could feel the bad springs,so we couldn't use this. There were hardly any charging points in the room and the ones they did have were behind tv cabinets, Lights and table ( very hard to get to) and to top it all off my suite was on the opposite corner to the Danube river and while we could see the chain bridge and river we had no view of the castle as advertised.
After discussions with the hotel manager about the wording on the website about what I expected to receive and what I received ( with regards to the view and suite) it was agreed that maybe the website should be altered and unfortunately there were no other rooms available for us to change to, but the hotel arranged to take us to the airport at no expense in one of their nice Tesla vehicle.
Sofitel chain bridge, time for an upgrade.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dartman444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel.
However, we were very concerned to read that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in our hotel, especially with the comfort of the room, and the improper service received related to your luggage that we would like to deeply apologize for.
It was with regret to read as well that we caused you disappointment due to the view from your room, please accept our sincerest apologies for that.
Your remarks are especially valuable for us in our continuous efforts to provide service excellence to our guest, therefore kindly allow me to ensure you that we took the appropriate measures to improve on our services in these regards.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We booked this hotel having had previous good experiences with the Sofitel brand. However, this hotel fell well short of our expectations. The entrance area was usually full of people and luggage trolleys because of the hoards of groups arrivals/departures every day we were there. There were 3 small lifts and there was usually a 5 minute or more wait for a lift to get up or down. The concierge was impossible to get to and the reception desk similarly busy during the day. The breakfast area was overcrowded and noisy and the dishes were empty for long periods before being replenished. The room, even though it was billed as "luxury" was small and cramped, with only one armchair, so the second person had to sit on the bed...not good! There was no desk, only an oval table. Worst of all, there were no sockets to plug your computer or phone into - none by the so called desk or even by the bed. In the 21st century, this was totally inadequate. We found a socket at floor level, right in the corner of the room. The bed was a small queen and sloping down uncomfortably on both sides from a ridge in the middle. The housekeeping would "make" the bed by pulling the duvet over the top, but when you uncovered it, the bottom sheet was just as you had left it in the morning. The only good thing about the room was the view, but there are other hotels close by where you can get the same thing, and probably better value for money. We will not return to this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Bernard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us in such great details.
While it is with deepest regret to know that your experience was not satisfactory in several aspects that we would like to apologize for. We were very sorry to hear that the level of service did not meet the expectation, especially in regards to the breakfast and the housekeeping and that you experienced inconveniences due to the comfort of the room, please accept our apologies for that.
Your remarks are especially valuable for us in a continuous effort to provide better service quality. Therefore please rest assured that your comments were forwarded to the respective heads of departments in order to improve on our services.
While I wish you had a better experience with us, it is from feedback like this that we learn and use to improve.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews