We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,295)
Filter reviews
6,295 results
Traveller rating
4,225
1,546
348
109
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,225
1,546
348
109
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge paris restaurant luxury room river view club room famous chain perfect location breakfast buffet excellent hotel buda castle across the river the executive lounge an upgrade christmas market junior suite four seasons beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 6,295 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

After 6 weeks in Europe my wife and I finished with a few days in Budapest. As Accor members I decided to "splurge" for our last few nights and stay in a suite at the Sofitel Chain Bridge, promising views of the river and castle at at night. When we arrived to check in it was too early for our room, so we left our bags and asked they be put in room when it was ready and we would explore Budapest. Upon arriving back at 4 pm, we got our keys to a suite only to find a few disappointing things - firstly no luggage, and no-one could find it after 1 hour, so I had to go downstairs and get it myself (exactly where we left it at reception when we arrived), secondly the sofa in the he lounge room of the suite was a sofa bed and the cushions to sit on it were so thin you could feel the bad springs,so we couldn't use this. There were hardly any charging points in the room and the ones they did have were behind tv cabinets, Lights and table ( very hard to get to) and to top it all off my suite was on the opposite corner to the Danube river and while we could see the chain bridge and river we had no view of the castle as advertised.
After discussions with the hotel manager about the wording on the website about what I expected to receive and what I received ( with regards to the view and suite) it was agreed that maybe the website should be altered and unfortunately there were no other rooms available for us to change to, but the hotel arranged to take us to the airport at no expense in one of their nice Tesla vehicle.
Sofitel chain bridge, time for an upgrade.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel.
However, we were very concerned to read that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in our hotel, especially with the comfort of the room, and the improper service received related to your luggage that we would like to deeply apologize for.
It was with regret to read as well that we caused you disappointment due to the view from your room, please accept our sincerest apologies for that.
Your remarks are especially valuable for us in our continuous efforts to provide service excellence to our guest, therefore kindly allow me to ensure you that we took the appropriate measures to improve on our services in these regards.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We booked this hotel having had previous good experiences with the Sofitel brand. However, this hotel fell well short of our expectations. The entrance area was usually full of people and luggage trolleys because of the hoards of groups arrivals/departures every day we were there. There were 3 small lifts and there was usually a 5 minute or more wait for a lift to get up or down. The concierge was impossible to get to and the reception desk similarly busy during the day. The breakfast area was overcrowded and noisy and the dishes were empty for long periods before being replenished. The room, even though it was billed as "luxury" was small and cramped, with only one armchair, so the second person had to sit on the bed...not good! There was no desk, only an oval table. Worst of all, there were no sockets to plug your computer or phone into - none by the so called desk or even by the bed. In the 21st century, this was totally inadequate. We found a socket at floor level, right in the corner of the room. The bed was a small queen and sloping down uncomfortably on both sides from a ridge in the middle. The housekeeping would "make" the bed by pulling the duvet over the top, but when you uncovered it, the bottom sheet was just as you had left it in the morning. The only good thing about the room was the view, but there are other hotels close by where you can get the same thing, and probably better value for money. We will not return to this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Bernard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us in such great details.
While it is with deepest regret to know that your experience was not satisfactory in several aspects that we would like to apologize for. We were very sorry to hear that the level of service did not meet the expectation, especially in regards to the breakfast and the housekeeping and that you experienced inconveniences due to the comfort of the room, please accept our apologies for that.
Your remarks are especially valuable for us in a continuous effort to provide better service quality. Therefore please rest assured that your comments were forwarded to the respective heads of departments in order to improve on our services.
While I wish you had a better experience with us, it is from feedback like this that we learn and use to improve.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

The hotel has a modern, contemporary design that does not appeal to us, especially in an old part of the city. However, the location with views of the famous Budapest Chain Bridge and the Buda side of the Danube is unbeatable. A river view room upgrade is worth it.

It is walk-able to many shops, restaurants and sites. Local transit is just outside the door (tram) or a few blocks (Metro subway) at most. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good. We had none of the problems mentioned in some other reviews such as crowds, lack of food choices, etc. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Worth the extra cost.

Room tip: Get a room with a river view as high as possible..
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the bridge-facing rooms. As promised on their website, the view was magnificent, especially at night! Just for the location itself, it was worth spending more to stay in this hotel - it is right at the Chain Bridge, and just a few minutes walk away from food and shopping. The room (luxury-queen) itself was comfortable, clean, and nicely furnished, though not exactly spacious. Breakfast was varied, with a large spread; we were especially surprised by the huge range of organic selections. A great hotel, even if just for the location and Danube views.
On a last note, the reception/check in staff could learn to be more warm and friendly, instead of just sufficiently professional - Sofitel is after all a luxury-brand hotel and is expected to make guests feel a little more special!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews