We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,550)
Filter reviews
1,550 results
Traveller rating
405
813
245
60
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
813
245
60
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge buda side pater marcus buda castle belgian restaurant great location bar opposite the river fisherman's bastion walking distance famous chain across the bridge hotel is located triple room reception staff rooms are clean minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,550 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel on the Buda side of the city very close to the chain bridge. Room on the small side but only slept in it so not a huge issue. Small pillows and smallest ever quilt. Kettle had no on/off so had to be careful of the boil. Door key didn’t work and had to complain 4 times to get issue resolved. Breakfast had a wide variety. Decor was lovely and clean. Staff friendly enough.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Petra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Friday on a work trip so didn’t need much from the place - and to be frank didn’t get anything more than I needed. I was in room 608 which a previous review noted as the best room; does make me worry about the rest as while it did have a small balcony with a restricted view of the river and bridge it was very small and not somewhere you’d want to spend any time.

I only had breakfast on one morning which was mediocre and only starts at 7am. Not a place I would choose to go back to, and certainly wouldn’t choose if on vacation because despite the central location it was neither nice enough to be worth spending real money on or cheap enough to forgive its averageness.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank whars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Good breakfast, easy access and friendly and helpful staff. We asked for a room with a walk in shower as my husband has walking difficulties. At arrival we were given a room with a bath, but the situation was immediately rectified, so we appreciate the good service. Budapest is a fabulous city with the most beautiful buildings, interesting museums and friendly people. The Carlton is well situated for exploring the City. Within easy walking distance to the Chain Bridge, Funicular and many good restaurants. Budapest is a beautiful city with friendly people. Fascinating history, buildings and architecture. Shoes on the Danube is a poignant reminder that the city and its people have been through terrible times. Many places to visit, from the Castle, St Mathias Church, Fisherman's Bastian, the Citadel (Buda) as well as the Pest side - Opera House, Parliament buildings, Sinagogue, Heroe's Square, Vajahunyad Castle, Terror Museum, the Market and many, many more places. Our second visit was still not enough to see everything. The most gorgeous views at night of the Danube and golden lit buildings on its banks. I just love this city.

Room Tip: I am not sure if there are any really good views from this hotel as it is situated between building on the river front and the hill.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Got welcomed by the receptionist with a big smile like a 5 star hotel. The breakfast isn’t that good, so had to leave out for breakfast.

The lift is tight and small, rooms are so small where it’s really hard to move in them.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Carlton Hotel is a simple hotel near the chain bridge. Rooms aber small but clean, comfortable beds. If you manage to book one of the few rooms with a balcony, go for it. Best room in the hotel is room 608 with a view of Parliament, Danube and chain bridge.
Rooms without balcony are tiny.
Breakfast is good and there is a very nice pub right in front of the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: 608 ist the best room, otherwise go for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hauptstadtreisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews