We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #46 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was perfect for me and my girlfriend for our valentines trip, Would recommend this hotel as it is close to ruin bars and shops and lovely restaurants. Rooms were clean and staff were great.Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 4,595 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Continental for a business trip. Lovely hotel with a grand reception area. They were very helpful during the booking process for our group and did their outmost to accomodate various allergies and dietary requirements for us. Conference facilities were ok and so were the lunches.

My room was nice and clean, but the bathroom was on the smaller side. Had breakfast through roomservice, which was also nice.

Did not have the time to enjoy the spa/pool or any other services. All in all a nice stay!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LillSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located a bit north of most sightseeing attractions. Nevertheless most things are still in walking distance if you want to make sightseeing about walking through the city, as we did. The hotel is situated in a very old building which gives it a nice balance of modern elegance and historic flair.

The rooms were very nice and clean. We had a room that looked over the the inner courtyard which meant there was no street noise whatsoever. The beds were comfortable, even though we were not able to get a real double bed (king or queen), as it was rather two twin bed put next to each other. We had a problem with the air condition unfortunately, as there was no way to really cool the room down. So it was basically set to 25 degrees 24/7 unless you turned it off.

The breakfast buffet had the normal variety you would expect from a good hotel, we really enjoyed it! The staff is friendly and helpful.

For another weekend trip to Budapest, we would probably come back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this great hotel for 4 nights.
It was fantastic value for money and well located for all main city attractions.
All staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet provided many different tasty choices. We particularly enjoyed the pancakes!
Our room was the smallest on offer but just right for what we needed and very clean and comfortable.
We made good use of the relaxing bar area (great cocktails!) and the spa facilities each day. The jacuzzi was particularly welcome after a morning sightseeing in the snowy blizzard!
Would definitely recommend the hotel and will return should we visit Budapest again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cperry1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

This hotel is a real 4 star hotel : good and attentive staff, very good location in the middle of the vibrant 7th district ,good breakfast buffet and wellness center with moderate prices for massage treatments. We asked for softer pillows which were brought to our room immediately. Only remark to make is that the curtains don't close completely.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr Frank V,

Let me begin with expressing my thankfulness for your brilliant review.

It was an honour having you stay with us and I cannot be happier with the fact our hotel was a great fit to you. We are really proud of the excellent location of our hotel, thank you for appreciating it. I am really happy to know that both the tasty breakfast and our nice wellness fulfilled your expectations. We always try to grant all of our dear guests’ request and it is wonderful you experienced the same. Please accept my apologies for your inconveniences caused by the curtain, but I honestly hope that this issue has not affected your stay negatively.

Please do not hesitate to return as soon as it is possible.

Kind regards,

Zoltán Géher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 337 in Budapest
5,079 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 337 in Budapest
3,595 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: HK$813 - HK$1,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, WingontravelTA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing