We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
Earn rewards for every stay
Hotels.com
Earn rewards on eligible stays
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
declanm110
Wellington, New Zealand

Probably the best resort I have ever visited

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Sept 2019via mobile
I visited Tawali with friends for a diving snorkelling trip. This place is simply amazing. I have never felt so far away from my day to day working life. I arrived at about 1 pm. Did my first snorkel at 3 pm and then a night dive at 6. Next two days I did 3 snorkels per day. Wow it was heaven on earth . Bed room superb with great views and then great food and a good bar . Exactly the break I hoped for plays 100%.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Expedia
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
38.9 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
The Likalili Gift Shop
eDreams
    35.5 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    eDreams
      36.1 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Free parking
      Pool
      Hotels.com
      Earn rewards on eligible stays
      • Expedia
      • eDreams
      • Agoda.com
      35.5 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      War house.
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      44.5 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Free parking
      Napatanas beautiful gardens
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      37.2 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      the jetty
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      47.2 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Wanigili Main Building from Backyard2
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      37.4 km from Tawali Leisure & Dive Resort
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Hewiia
      Reviews (144)
      Filter reviews
      144 results
      Traveller rating
      79
      47
      11
      7
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      79
      47
      11
      7
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews dive boat day trip home reef great visibility other travelers flight boats deck board jetty bungalow remoteness locals nature shells
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      13 - 18 of 144 reviews
      Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

      Had a great stay. Staff were great in particular penny, Gilbert and peter. Food was good and good chef. A lot of Tuna. But it is caught locally so very fresh. Not a lot of assortment of veg which I missed. Picnic and snorkling was a great outing as was visiting the waterfall. Beds were good. Tv wouldn't work for us but we had a lot of reading material and so tired it didn't matter. Wi fi available in lounge dining area. Management straff George and Nosaki were very welcoming. Have to say a special thanks to all staff who tried to find a national friend in Alotau we hadn't seen for 40 years. Archie our driver who in the end found her and to Nosaki who took us to her, went away for awhile and came back to get us. Thankyou very much all staff were great and understanding of some of our difficulties A great four day break for us old Maris.

      Date of stay: May 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Cheryl-Ann M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 12 May 2019

      We tested Tawali's staff and processes right at the beginning. Three days before our Port Moresby trip, my wife and I decided that we did not want to stay in Port Moresby for longer due to the restrictions following security best practices. Hence, we spontaneously rang up Tawali at 7.30pm and they confirmed to answer all relevant question by email. Within 12 hours we had questions answered and within 24 hours it was a done deal. Very good booking experience!

      The staff was very helpful, from booking before the trip throughout our visit over in Papua New Guinea. All people are nice and smiling and it's a very friendly atmosphere. The concept with dive boxes is very good as well and helps to have your things sorted. The day trip diving boats were comfortable and clean as the entire resort.

      Really, it was a very pleasant experience to stay in Tawali!

      The diving was fun, too. Nature seems to be pure in Milne Bay. From the green hills to the blue ocean. Beautiful coral and smaller reef fish in abundance. Incredible underwater landscapes. My absolute favorite was 'Deacon's Reef' as the walls are filled with coral and we had some 40m viz. Just incredible! I'll let the photos do the rest. ;-)

      P.s. I rated value average, because the resort and PNG as such is a bit pricey. You may get close to the experience in Indonesia with half the price. However, I don't regret the trip. It was nature (and people) at it's best!

      Date of stay: April 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank ChristophWuerbel
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

      For diving and sleeping is this a very good resort. Albert was my dive guide and he is a really good dive guide. I saw many big and small sizes. The mix is nice.
      Only the bird guides were very sad Gilbert knows nothing about birds and Michael may be 1%. The food was good, but expensive.
      The room was absolute clean and we felt save during our stay.

      We think about to come again to this resort

      Date of stay: February 2019
      Thank Oberreifenberg
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

      Never imagine I would be able to enjoy this alone time. Came at this place without any agenda but once there the tours and adventures they offer leaves nothing but wonderful memories. Thank you Tawali for a wonderful place, friendly staff and outrageous, breathtaking place.

      Date of stay: October 2018
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      2  Thank Grace A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 October 2018

      Loved everything about Tawali, the people, the sea, the accommodation, the staff and the activities. Gilbert was a great guide and the visit to the village was a highlight for me. I loved talking with Gilbert and finding out heaps about local life.

      Alfred was a great Dive Master although I snorkeled only. Alfred knew exactly where to go and what to find. Both Alfred and Gilbert were patient and understanding with us older and inexperienced snorkelers. The Coral Gardens and Lawadi were just beautiful..we met some other great folks who were very happy with the diving.

      I enjoyed talking with Edward, the manager, and all the other staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. My partner John and I had such a good time that when we came back to OZ we straight away booked another holiday in March 2019. It is expensive, but hey, its a privilege to be a part of life there even for such a short time...and folks have to earn a living!

      Room tip: Rooms away from the restaurant
      Date of stay: October 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      3  Thank Kathleen K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews