We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
US$133
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
529
56
15
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
529
56
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standing stones chef jay private pool black sand jacuzzi suite luxury escapes package ocean view escape package head chef jepun villa sun loungers the general manager huge bathroom amazing hotel star resort four poster bed free shuttle to ubud
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2020

Today I had lunch with my wife at the Standing Stones Restaurant at The Royal Purnama. This really lovely luxury boutique resort overlooks the beach and is absolutely gorgeous. It’s so nice to hear the sound of waves crashing while enjoying your meal.My wife has this illness called anorexia resulting in her be being scared of putting on weight, however she plucked up courage and we both ordered fried mahi mahi with tartar sauces and chips. For the first time my wife could remember she actually ate everything on the plate saying it was so absolutely delicious! I have to say mine was probably the best fish and chips I've experienced in ten years in Bali.
The staff were attentive and charming (their management has managed to keep all the staff employed during this pandemic, albeit understandably on a part-time base). We also met Chef Jay, who has been there for six years and loves to meet guests and create dishes according to their specific preferences. So if you are looking for something special, …… Chef Jay and The Royal Purnama will be perfect!!!
We both highly recommend anyone seeking a sophisticated relaxing time in a rural oceanfront setting to go have lunch or dinner at The Royal Purnama’s awesome sea view restaurant or book a stay in one of their really very beautiful villas. We will most certainly return! 
Enjoy:)

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Robertepstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Purnama TRP, General Manager at The Royal Purnama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Dear Robertepstone,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. It brings us great pleasure to read that you and your wife visited our Standing Stones Restaurant & Beach Lounge and had an unforgettable lunchtime, both fully enjoying the delicious fish and chips created by chef Jay and his kitchen team! Also, we are thrilled that you loved the beachfront ambiance and the attentiveness and charm of our staff.
Indeed, we are grateful to still being able to keep our entire team on board during these challenging times. Especially in times like this it is such a huge motivator for all of us to get such positive feedback!
Just to let you know, Chef Jay and Chef Kompiang haven’t been sitting still during this pandemic and created an additional delicious 100% plant-based Vegan Menu (with over 20 healthy light bites, starters, mains, and desserts) that has been available together with our renewed Beach Lounge Menu since May this year.
Thank you for recommending our resort and restaurant to anyone seeking a unique location to spend the day for lunch or dinner or for a stay in one of our luxury Suites or Villas.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Barry and the entire TRP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

We were invited to wedding which took place at the Royal Purnama and were booked to stay there for 5 nights. We ended up staying 10 nights. It was very hard to to leave this place. Everything is beautiful peacful and upscale .
We stayed in 1 bedroom villa with the private pool, which we used all the time. Each morning we took yoga classes on the rooftop of the spa with beautiful view of Pacific. The Standing Stones restaurant at the resort was fantastic! The décor is beautiful and the views are spectacular. Every meal we had was perfectly plated and delicious. And the staff was absolutely first class and always friendly. Just a wonderful group of people that became like family over our stay.
We are vegan and the chef went out of his way for us, even though they have many great vegan options on the menu . The vegan crème brule and chocolate mouse are sublime. There is no need to tell guests they are vegan as you would never know.
I miss Royal Purnama and plan to go back there as soon as i can even though my flight there is over 22 hours. it is well worth it.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Granolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Purnama TRP, General Manager at The Royal Purnama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Dear Yola K,

Thank you for this wonderful review of your time at The Royal Purnama during and after your friends’ wedding. We are delighted that you loved it so much that you decided to extend your stay for five more nights. Yes, we are very proud of the variety of vegan dishes we have on the menu, we get such great comments about them. Chef Jay and his Kitchen Team are indeed doing a marvelous job. We hope your good memories of our resort, our food, our lovely people and Bali in general will bring you back to us in the future! In the meantime stay safe and healthy,

Kindest regards,

Barry and the entire TRP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

I went with a few friends to attend a wedding at the royal purnama and stayed in the pool suite. Service was amazing and the staffs very friendly + accommodating. Love the rooms and especially the bathtub big enough for two. Highly recommended for couples or intimate getaway with friends

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank renateputrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Purnama TRP, Owner at The Royal Purnama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Dear RenateP,

“Highly recommended for couples or intimate getaway with friends”.
Thank you for your amazing recommendation. Yes, the big bathtub is a favorite of many of our guests! Was very nice to have you here for the wedding event. Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Barry and the entire TRP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

The view and the facilities are incredible, recommended for a romantic stay! The restaurant serves delicious food and the cook really takes care of its guests! He walks around the tables asking for feedback and listens carefully. We particularly appreciated the little treats left in our room!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P8559LDsilvias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Purnama TRP, Owner at The Royal Purnama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Dear Silvia S,

Thank you for your short and sweet review regarding your stay in July last year. We are happy that you think back of your time at The Royal Purnama with such warm memories. The Chef says thank you for the compliments, it made his day! Since your stay in July we have been working hard on improving different aspects of the resort, we also added some fun and cultural activities to our entertainment program. You have to come back to see for yourself, who knows, maybe next time you even rate your stay with the max 5 :)
Looking forward to your next visit! 

Warmest regards,

Barry and the entire TRP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

We had a Jacuzzi suite with an ocean view which was really clean and beautifully styled. There was a little kitchen/diner which was well equipped, a lovely comfy bed and large bathroom with a large bath and separate outdoor shower. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent and fantastic choice. The pool area was small but lovely with plenty of beds and seating. The only real negative was the beach was dirty and not at all appealing. We wouldn't hesitate to return and have stayed at many resorts in Bali over the years.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Royal Purnama TRP, Owner at The Royal Purnama, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear paulsMidlands,

Thank you for your kind words! Indeed our Housekeeping Team does a magnificent job keeping the suites and villas squeaky clean. So nice to read that the two of you, as regular visitors to Bali and having stayed in many different resorts, particularly loved the idyllic Balinese styling of our Royal Purnama resort and your ocean-view suite, and that you wouldn't hesitate to come back!
On a different note I’m very sorry that at the time of your stay with us the beach was not looking its best. Unfortunately, plastic pollution nowadays is a worldwide problem and Bali beaches are enduring the consequences of that as well. Pantai Purnama is a public beach which means we have limited control over it as it is managed by the government, but as cleanliness is very important to us we coordinate as much as possible with the local authorities. Daily cleaning does take place under our resort's supervision, however from time to time, in some seasons more than others, the sea currents and winds deliver new deposits of pollution right after cleaning, making it hard to keep up. At other times it is easier, but yes, it is a sad consequence of worldwide environmental pollution.
As Royal Purnama Family we feel committed to making an effort for a cleaner and greener tomorrow and together with many others on the island as well we continually search for more ways to bring back the use of plastic and pollutants! Thank you for showing your care.
Looking forward to welcome you on your next visit with hopefully a nice looking beach!
 
With our best regards,

Barry and the entire TRP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews