We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere good food”
Review of Radio Cairo

Radio Cairo
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Cremorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$36
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: RADIO CAIRO is my expression of cultural diversity at it's most positive. I'm of Sri Lankan (Wijeyekoon), Irish (Kennedy), German Jew (De Worms), Portuguese (Perera) and English (Martin) origin! The "Spice and Human trade" organically created me and the cuisine at RADIO CAIRO People and food from China to South Asia to India to Europe to Africa to Caribbean to Southern Americas centred in Slave Island, Kandy and Jaffna Peninsula, Sri Lanka.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants in Sydney. Always a good vibe, great food and big selection of wine and beverages.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank robertglewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

It was just as good, if not better. Food delicious, we shared several tasting plates all good and the Pisco Sour Cocktails so good, we had to have anther round. Restaurant is buzzy staff excellent and a great evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This place gets busy!
We had to wait quite a long time for a table but it was definitely worth the wait.
It's loud and cramped, but the great food makes up for that.
Probably not somewhere I'd head on a date night but more with groups of friends.
The food is spicy but tasty!
The cocktails are delicious and good quality.
We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

A group of 4, aunty, uncle, mother in law and myself. Conservative eaters. But wanted to try something different. All of us had a fantastic meal and we all tried each others. The lamb was the best and so was the fish. No need for starter, portions were very generous. Staff very friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We have been going to Radio Cairo for 25 years to get great spicy food. Our last meal a week ago was so poor that we won't be giving them another chance. We booked early to make sure that our favourite dish (pork ribs) would be available. But it wasn't. No explanation. We thought we'd try a chicken tagine instead. It was bland and tasteless with no tagine sauce. Another favourite, the Afro Fries were under spiced and the Bongo Bread wasn't a patch on the original. One of us ordered the blackened fish which arrived over cooked and hard. The only dish that was at the former level for the restaurant was the (small) sosaties. Kitchen service was also slow.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Radio Cairo also viewed

Neutral Bay, North Sydney
 
Cremorne, North Sydney
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 
North Sydney, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Radio Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing