We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Info for people with fitness or mobility issues”

Otway Fly Treetop Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.71*
and up
12 Apostles and Otway Fly Zipline Day Trip from Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Colac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An uplifting experience in the stunning Otway rainforest.Gain a bird's eye view of the forest on the Treetop Walk - or take a thrilling ride through the trees on the Zip Line Eco-Tour!The Treetop Walk the worlds longest and tallest of its type at 600mt long, a constant 35mt above ground level and at the top of the spiral tower you are 47mt above ground level in the treetops. Walk in amongst ancient species of trees in the majestic Otway Ranges. Walk will take 1 hour. Thrill seekers! Take to the skies on the fully guided Eco-Tour and learn all about the unique temperate rainforest - up to 30m in the air! Book online (and save!).Take a break after your time in the trees at the Black Snail Cafe - open every day until 3pm - retail store and disabled facilities. 55 mins from Apollo Bay off the Great Ocean Road. 90 mins from Geelong on the A1 (Princes Highway via Colac).
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took the Tree Tops walk today with the family. If you go, I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Please note while the grade of the raised gantry section of the walk is rated as gentle and only 600m long, the 1.3km (total) sections at the start and end of the walk are some what steeper and may challenge those lacking basic fitness and/or (walking) mobility issues. The non-disabled/staff car park is roughly 250 metres from the reception centre where you start/finish the walk. Honestly, if I knew this before hand, I would have picked an easier option (maybe a lookout?).

Tip: the attraction runs a shuttle (golf cart) from the bottom to the top of the hill at the top of the hour for people with limited mobility.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as a group of 8 (3 adults and 5 children). We had a great time on the treetop walk. Sadly the cafe couldn't keep up with orders. We waited over an hour and requested a refund as or order wasn't even started. Really felt for staff who were undermanned. Lots of upset customers and hungry children.

Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtwayFly, Manager at Otway Fly Treetop Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Nikki,

Thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear that your visit was spoiled by a poor F&B experience.
Unfortunately we have had a lot of staff away recently due to illness and this impacted our manning levels over the holiday period. We will try to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thanks again


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked our tickets weeks in advance and drove for an hour to get there -- just to find out the activity was closed due to heavy winds. Now it is very laudable that they put their customers' safety first, but in the age of internet I would have expected them to send me a heads-up via e-mail. I know an hour may not seem long by Australian standards but by European visitors' standards this is unacceptable.

Thank Niko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtwayFly, Manager at Otway Fly Treetop Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Sorry to hear that your tour was cancelled.
Unfortunately being that the Otway Fly is located on the first mountain range along the southern coastline, we find that the weather can be unpredictable and constantly changing. Add to this our Zip line and Sky walk are both metal and highly conductive and at risk of lightning storms.
We take the safety of our staff and guests seriously and have a local weather station and lightning tracker on site to ensure we maintain that safety.

We take every care to inform guests when we have to close but unfortunately sometimes we have to close at short notice.
I'm sorry you feel that this was poor customer service but jeopardising your safety would also be poor customer service.

Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks Robin & Billy for a great day on the zipline! Such an amazing area of Vic & so great to have this experience amongst the trees.

Thank Tamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtwayFly, Manager at Otway Fly Treetop Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tamara,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Zip line experience.
Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to Robin and Billy.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was lovely walk and surrounding were beautiful. Cafe was cheap and food was good. Down fall was wish they said to pack drinks, etc qnd have toilet out there otherwise u have wait till you come back in and with kids its hard.

Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtwayFly, Manager at Otway Fly Treetop Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Melissa,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time hear. I will pass your comments on to our guest services staff. Unfortunately as the location of the sky walk is in the middle of a pristine rain forest we are unable locate toilets there.

Thanks again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otway Fly Treetop Adventures also viewed

Apollo Bay, Victoria
 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to Otway Fly Treetop Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing