We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mary Valley Rattler
from US$51.18
More Info
from US$79.69
More Info
from US$398.44
More Info
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
505
89
14
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
505
89
14
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary valley return trip steam train train trip great trip silver bullet steam loco beautiful scenery railway buffs enjoyable trip general store volunteer staff few hours lovely experience enjoyed every minute my parents picnic hamper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This bloke named T. Hallam, was a bloody good train driver. He fairly hooked around the joint, got thru the trip nice and quick

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank TheRealJenny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_Valley_Rattler, Guest Relations Manager at Mary Valley Rattler, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi TheRealJenny126
We think he’s great too!
Thank you for joining us.
Cheers MVR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful experience we had today 07/02/2021 with our grandson’s, they both enjoyed it so much. The crew were Fantastic, very knowledgeable about the train and all the area’s surrounding The Marry Valley.
To make it more memorable we could order our lunch on the train so on our return we had a table booked and our meals were served, I would recommend the fish, chips and salad were to fide for.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank sookylalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_Valley_Rattler, Guest Relations Manager at Mary Valley Rattler, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi sookylalac
Thank you so much for joining us and for your review.
We're so happy you all enjoyed the train experience and the cafe.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers MVR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

all good loved the day volunteers so helpful and informative the system where you order lunch back at railway station ahead while your on trip is great train so well maintain interesting area great day out just right amount of time

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_Valley_Rattler, Guest Relations Manager at Mary Valley Rattler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Julie F
We’re so happy you enjoyed your day with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Cheers MVR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Back to the old days. Lovely trip through the Mary Valley, staff were all volunteers who were so helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable. Served a packed cheese platter and wine. Travelled to the end of the line where we all got off the train to watch the engine being turned around on the turntable ready for the return trip. Would happily go back for another trip. Stopped along the way to visit the local markets.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank lynnegjones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_Valley_Rattler, Guest Relations Manager at Mary Valley Rattler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi lynnegjones13
Thank you for your review and for joining us.
We're so happy you enjoyed your day. We totally agree, our volunteers are amazing!
Cheers MVR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing day with the team from Mary Valley Rattler!!

What can we say from the time we arrived to the time we returned the team were fantastic. They ensure all avenues are covered and you have you a carriage attendant to ask and ensure all needs are meet.

The actual ride was great, due to covid restrictions we have a whole row of seats for my wife and three year old son.

Views, sight s and smells are all that of a real Steam Train!!!

We had lunch afterwards and that was worth it as well. You order from the train and it arrives for you at your reserved table after the trip.

Now to the most impressive part of the day.. Our son being three, well he was putting his head ever so slightly out the window to see the engine. We warned him, your hat will fly off. Of course it did indeed. Lost forever.
Then step in our carriage attendant, Graham I think. We know he was talkign with us when the hat come off. As soon as we got back he must have driven to the approximate place, walked the track and returned the cap to my son.

THANK YOU, Thank You THANK YOU......

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank rickywR2051EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_Valley_Rattler, Guest Relations Manager at Mary Valley Rattler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi rickywR2051EX
Our volunteers are amazing, they go above and beyond!
We’re so happy you all enjoyed your day.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers MVR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews