We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about walked out it took so long”

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 187 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Nice atmosphere.
Took 40min for our bread to come out then had to ask how much longer our drinks were going to be. Friendly waitress explained the barman had been on a break.
Other guests that arrived an hour after us were eating before our table of 4.
My steak had been under the heat lamp so long the salad was wilted and yuck.
Mains took the best part of 2hrs to arrive.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Local_resident0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we are sincerely sorry you felt this way. We will be addressing this with senior management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2021

Tonight we arrived and ordered meal, asking to have a tortellini starter but main size along with dumpling entree. Food arrived, both plates entree sized - explained to nice waitress the mistake and she removed the plate. I ate my dumplings which were delicious while husband waited for his food - arrived after I finished my meal......
2nd drink ordered never arrived. Busy night as Saturday we forgave and went to pay bill. Tortellini starter is $22, we then found $42 had been charged for 8 Tortellini. Extra paid for fries and salad. We queried the bill and we’re told it was correct. A rubbish night out, we didn’t order dessert as waited long enough with no service.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeeMee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we are sincerely sorry you felt this way. We will be addressing this with senior management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Food was not up to chef standard. potatoes under cooked. Service friendly and efficient. They have a happy hour from 4-6. Probably won't eat there again

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank tonylast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Hello Tony,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear you may not return to The Tides. I will be passing this onto our Food and Beverage Manager and I will be doing all I can to rectify this.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

Enjoyed our dinner here while on holiday. We used a grab one voucher. The chicken and ginger dumplings and calamari were divine. Everyone enjoyed their mains - chicken, lamb shank and beer battered turbot. For dessert my daughter ordered the white chocolate brulee which she enjoyed and my husband and I shared the gelato. Would recommend this restaurant and when back in Nelson look forward to going back.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAM239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Thank you Dam239,
It sounds as though you had a wonderful time with us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Away for a Christmas break in Nelson purchase a grabone voucher for dinner at the Tides restaurant, Not having read the fine print properly which quoted ( not available on public holidays) however explained that we were leaving on the 29th Dec they allowed us to use it, We had a wonderful seat by the window overlooking the river the meal was excellent and the service was fabulous, If ever in Nelson again would definitely go again.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anth0ny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, General Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Hello AnthOny1946,
We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.