We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Different and great natural attraction

Lovely that these penguins have been protected and encouraged to nest in man made boxes on the... read more

Reviewed 8 March 2021
Camda
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Must do in Oamaru

Spent about 2 1/2 hours watching the penguins come in "in rafts". There was good commentary there... read more

Reviewed 18 November 2020
Shane B
,
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Read all 931 reviews
  
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
472
268
91
50
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
268
91
50
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium seats nesting boxes wrap up warm come home nesting area evening viewing no photography penguins arrive standard seating penguins coming money goes penguin colony fur seals penguin experience take pictures natural environment on the rocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

Do something new NZ. But not at these prices. Even as Seniors $36 each is just too much. We would have considered $20 each a payable price.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Krollden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

Fantastic and worth paying the extra for premium seats. 264 penguins came safely home. So gorgeous coming back in rafts of 10 to 50, unbelievable, and we were so close. The commentary is informative. Wear warm clothing as you are there a couple of hours. We saw chicks on the way out and about a dozen penguins in the car park. It was the highlight of our trip. It still brings a smile to my face when I visualise the waddling, fast moving penguins coming a shore.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank Cushla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020 via mobile

My partner and I spent the evening yesterday down at the penguin colony, it was amazing to see their personalities and how adorable they are in person. I'd definitely recommend to come and see the penguins atleast once, also lovely that the proceeds help fund the conservation of the wee guys!

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank ayrtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Spent about 2 1/2 hours watching the penguins come in "in rafts". There was good commentary there were large gaps of times between rafts the staff kept the commentary and interest going. We were in the main stand and several penguins around a dozen decided to take a short cut through the stand so we go a real good view. For anyone who loves nature and animals a must do in Oamaru although quite a long time I would recommend it for children as well as entertaining a learning experience.

Note you cannot take photos this did not detract from the experience.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

We (couple in mid 20s) visited because we were in town for the Victorian Heritage Festivals and the penguins were a definite highlight of our trip! We purchased the premium seats and it was definitely worth it. You are so much closer to the penguins and after the viewing you get to wander through a path right alongside their burrows. We saw 200+ penguins as this time of the year they return to feed their chicks. So adorable and would definitely do again!

Date of experience: November 2020
1  Thank Alicehx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews