We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
280
397
189
58
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
397
189
58
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking four points great location waterfront restaurant steam room buffet breakfast good size indoor pool across the road bay view eastern beach westfield shopping centre an upgrade comfortable room saturday night balcony pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful in every way. Customer service was fantastic from reception desk to the wait staff in the restaurant. Location unbeatable and the pool with a view is hard to beat. Although the wings are clipped because of COVID and confined to the staycation - doing it at this place, was super-restful and finally felt the holiday vibes. Coming back again soon...

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PurposeIsJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Jackson, Marketing at Novotel Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi PurposeIsJoy,

Thank you for your five star rating and for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read about your wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,
Karen Jackson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We stayed here on NYE and had a good experience.
On booking via the website I called to request adjacent rooms for the kids and the staff member was very helpful in facilitating, rooms were lovely and spacious. One watch out is the shower and the amount of water that ends up on the floor based on the way the glass divider stops.
With the location we enjoyed walking around geelong- movies, Timezone, eastern beach and beachfront activities for the kids, and plenty of cafes.
We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and food was good, staff seemed new but post covid is understandable and they were all friendly.
The pool is a little tired but the adjacent outdoor area is lovely in the afternoon.
Only feedback is the lack of valet drivers on a peak stay night meant frustration on arrival and staff were run off their feet. The way the driveway is means it is unforgiving to a back log of cars.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S0phsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Jackson, Marketing at Novotel Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 0phsTravels,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for NYE. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with the family and were able to enjoy some of the local activities.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Geelong.

Warm regards,
Karen Jackson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

It was very nice. I couldn’t find water in the room that’s all other than that everything was great. Service was very nice too. We enjoyed it. The location was great and restaurants were near and we will like to come back for sure.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank vaishaliau028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Jackson, Marketing at Novotel Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi vaishaliau028,

Thank you for staying at Novotel Geelong recently and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. In relation to your comment about bottled water, currently, mini bar items are on request although please do let any of our team know next time if you need something taken to your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Karen Jackson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

We were not staying at the hotel, although my wife and I have stayed there before and have eaten there with friends in the past. We had breakfast there on the morning of 31st Dec as a group of 8 and the feeling as we left (from all of us) was that the overall experience was rather disappointing.
The service from the staff was uncoordinated and very slow. They gave the impression that they were still learning the role. No confident smiles amongst them.
(Breakfast is no longer buffet and we were aware of that).
Meals were just OK, although one of them ( Pancake Stack) looked rather miserable as representing a main meal. There Just 3 (more like pikelets) than pancakes with 4 berries around the edge of the plate. Nothing like what it was described as on the menu. Also one of the pancakes had been well burnt.
They mucked up our coffee orders and we did not make a fuss about it, Just ended up accepting what they delivered to the table. Not to mention that the drinks were not very hot at all.
I actually sent an email to the hotel in the afternoon of the 31st. It was acknowledged and they stated they would come back to me. That has not happened, so that is why I am now posting this review. I would have thought that 6 days would have been sufficient time for them to reply.
I am not normally one of those people who would complain about such things, but when you have a group who all have the same thoughts, I believe it is better to let the venue know, and if there is seen to be an issue they can address it.
I should mention that we had booked for the meal some 10 days ahead and rang the day before to confirm numbers, and were told that they had no record of the booking.
PS. We have found over the years that the experience of staying/eating in most of the "major hotel chains" is not what it used to be. Go for the smaller, and becoming more popular, boutique chains or smaller hotels.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Jackson, Marketing at Novotel Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi M6578ABgaryr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry to read of your disappointment.
We do apologise that your feedback had not been responded on the email that you sent.

I would personally like to discuss your feedback in further detail. When suitable, can you please contact me on my direct line 5273 5724

We look forward at the opportunity of welcoming you and your guests back to Waterfront Restaurant.

Warm regards,
Karen Jackson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

It's not inexpensive....we stayed at the the Langham on sth bank in Melbourne following our few days in Geelong and it was largely a level up.....it's the little things and attention to detail....but by and large it was a pleasant location on the waterfront

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 488hughc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Jackson, Marketing at Novotel Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Hi 488hughc,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Geelong and for writing a review. We are pleased to hear that enjoyed our waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Karen Jackson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews