We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
3
15
1
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
15
1
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedhot waternoisebedsfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

When we turned up at reception for the key, we went to the allocated room only to find it had one double bed, as we were sisters and paying for a bed each went back to reception and they gave us a deluxe room omg it was disgusting they gave us milk in a jar with a lid on no shampoo dirty mouldy tiles in shower could not bring ourselves to even shower in it rotting timber around the tiles on floor,in bathroom, went back to reception to see if we could have breakfast menu or dinner menu, only to be told restaurant was close due to maintenance. Would not recommend this motel at all it should be closed for full maintenance.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank LynH188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Had to stay up Ballarat for a couple of days, and knowing it’s a bit on the dear side cast ones net further afield for accomodation. Not that Cardigan is too far from Ballarat,and an easy detour off the main freeway as it happens.
Manager is a bit of a hoot, and as there has been some renovations in parts of the establishment, plus limited clientele at this time of year one suspects, we got put in an upgraded room at no extra cost. I do think this was to do as much as anything with only having to maintain facilities in one area, but at $85 a night for 2 of us I wouldn’t be grumbling.
A fairly basic sort of layout I guess with usual motel facilites, although clean bathrooms and a very comfortable bed go a long way.
Pretty quiet although the odd vehicle rumbles past in the evening, and apart from the strangely cold vinyl flooring was actually a very good stay for 2 days.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a basketball tournament. We were first given the wrong room but the owner/manager changed our room straight away.
The rooms were old and smelled off Nanas house (mothball smell).
It was clean and had everything we needed.
Only problem was we went out one day and our heater was turned off, when we left it on. Would have been nice to return to a warm room at night not a cold room.
And they also emptied the bins and added more toilet paper but didn’t make the beds.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi Monica,

We have updated 12 rooms in the last 2 years and our updated rooms have wooden floorboard instead of carpet to remove any misty smell. A wet place like Ballarat the carpets get wet because of the constant travel flow of guest in and out of the rooms.I hope the next time you will book into our Deluxe room and we have excellent positive review from out guest for these rooms. As for switching off the heater we try our best to be an environmentally friendly business and practice on energy saving methods and using non chemical cleaning products. But if you hand over the keys to reception and mentioned your return time we switch on the heater half hour before your arrival time. In regards to the making of the bed if there is guest personal items on the bed then we do not remove the items and make the bed because some guest do not like it. We appreciate your feedback and we aim on improving our process continuously from the feedback off our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Cobwebs, broken taps and dirty carpet are some of the features of the Cardigan Lodge.

Bedside tables, chairs and lamp covers are nowhere to be seen but there’s plenty of dust.

Once you’ve had a shower and used the incredibly old brown, threadbare towels you’ll need to wear shoes on the carpet as your feet will get dirty.

The bed covers are visibly dirty and a clear view of the grit and dirt is obtained once you draw the dusty curtains back to see.

In between the 50 year old double mattress and the single bed there is an empty corner TV unit, for what purpose is not known. As there is one rickety chair in the room, if you want to sit down, you have to on the bed where it is impossible not to roll inwards.

For additional ambience the wall heater/AC is very loud and there is no way to avoid the unit turning off and on every 30 mins. The noise this unit produces is like sleeping in a train station. If only there was a spare blanket or pillow in the room. The temperature got down to 3 degrees so there is no way to avoid the noisy heater/ac.

It seems unlikely this place would pass any kind of health test given the state of cleanliness and run down bathroom facilities.

In all honesty, this hotel is a real-life parody of a bad unclean hotel.

And all of this was ours for $350.00 per night over the Queen’s Birthday long weekend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank ValerieJPringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph N, Owner at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Sorry you did not enjoy the stay. However the onsite Manager said you wanted a full refund at the end of your 2 night stay because the motel was not to the standard of 175/night. The Manager advise he cannot refund the money after your 2 night stay. He said he could have refund the money before your stay when you checked in the room if you had any issue. It was a full weekend with no avaliability in whole ballarat and our room is one of the cheapest for the weekend. I like apologise that the rooms was not to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

After travelling over 11 hours to get to this motel we were advised our booking was cancelled by a third party provider. The man stated that the provider cancelled the booking due to invalid payment details.

After contacting our travel provider the next morning to find out what had occurred they confirmed we were meant to pay upon check-in and that no pre-payment was required. They advised us that the motel had cancelled the booking.

After we checked with the bank to ensure no problems with the payment method, we concluded that the motel obviously overbooked and cancelled our booking while we were still traveling to the motel.

The motel never attempted to contact us prior to check in to check on payment details or even to check on check in time, we arrived late at 8.53pm (their reception closes at 9.00pm).

After he told us he could not help us he did not bother to even help us find alternative accommodation in the region/area - after 11 hours driving we were exhausted and not too happy about being jibbed - we even spoke to the Police about it.

I strongly suggest you avoid this place, the customer service is terrible and you are more than likely to have your booking cancelled, because if you read the other reviews about this place (which l wish l had) you would never book this place.

Puts shame on Cardigan Village - so steer clear book in Ballarat there are way more friendlier, trustworthy and nicer accommodation options.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Dor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

I am sorry we left 3 telephone messages and also send a email via the OTA after 630 PM on your arrival date that the card in invalid and you view your telephone at reception and saw all the missed call and message from the OTA advising if a valid card is not received with 1 hour the booking will be cancelled. You was arguing with your partner for not having enough funds in the credit card. If we have a invalid card we make every attempt to contact the guest before release the room back into the OTA. With our booking system it does not allow us to overbook the rooms. Alot of guest have invalid do not turn up and it is the policy to release the room after necessary attempt is made to contact the guest. Also I have offer a room for the night but you want for 2 night and that was not avaliable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews