We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
81
80
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
80
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art gallery every guest lydiard street heritage charm beautiful old building nice hotel executive suite front bar saturday night rooms are small central location the ground floor relaxing weekend modern facilities spent one night reception area lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Room was lovely however horrendous nightclub literally downstairs is ridiculously open til like 4am! Our ‘family room’ was right above it. There’s no escape. They really need to warm people prior to booking as it’s very expensive a night!!

Room tip: Don’t stay fri / sat nights unless you plan to be up until 4am!!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FionaBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We stayed last Saturday night to enjoy the Ballarat winter festival and we were having a lovely time until we tried to get some sleep when the nightclub downstairs kept us awake until 3am! If you're going to call it 'luxury boutique accomodation' you should be able to deliver on a good night's sleep.

Room tip: Dont' stay here if sleep is important to you.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica_5787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I stayed at the George Hotel on the long weekend it is a very well located Hotel in the centre of Ballarat, rooms are warm, clean and well appointed. I have no issues with the staff who where very helpful and efficient. The only thing that ruined my stay was the Night Club that felt like it was located directly below my room (No 8). The music started at 10.00 pm and thumped its way through the night until 3.00 am needless to say I got very little sleep! The source of the noise is the Hotel Night Club which is open every weekend. So if you choose to stay at this Hotel ask for a room as faraway from the Night Club as possible or don't stay on a weekend.

Room tip: Stay as faraway as possible from the Night Club located in this Hotel.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We stayed two nights at The George Hotel. The very nice lady at reception was very accommodating and gave us a lovely room in the Executive Suite on the second floor. The room was overlooking the balcony with a nice view of Lydiard Street and was private and very quiet. The George is in a great location that is close to the railway station, the Ballarat Art Gallery and a good selection of dining available.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I was in the family room for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Beds were super comfortable, room was clean and hotel was really quiet at night. The only problem with the room was that the bathroom door was a bit see-through, as I was staying with friends that was a bit awkward. Other than that the room was great. Food and coffee downstairs was also good as is the location.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews