We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Sammys On The Marina
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 25/06
20:00
Ranked #21 of 142 Restaurants in Glenelg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: South Australia is known for its fresh seafood. Fanatics from all around the world come here to get a taste of some good old "Aussie Favourite". Well, we keep that tradition high. Sammys on The Marina brings to you some of the best SA seafood that you'll ever taste in your life. Not just that, the views that we offer, is something you won't get anywhere else in Adelaide. Come down to Sammys and experience the magic for yourself!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect from beginning to end.
Beautiful position, efficient and friendly service.
Good menu, nice options without bull.
Scallops to die for. Seafood medley just enough for 2 to share. After an entree each.
No room for desert.
KB our waiter was attentive and perceptive, informed us that the menu was just updated.
Normally I run a mile from seafood places with a view. This place has changed my mind.
Book soon before word gets out.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank W8528ZMmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great experience ... food was fantastic and the staff were exceptional. They made a 91st birthday very special!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank RobinE131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

while the food we had was very nice we went to their restaurant because it was a seafood restaurant. However feel the focus has shifted away from seafood and become a very expensive restaurant that sells seafood. $40.00 for a piece of salmon with no sides... sides are an extra $10.00. I am not sure who would think $50.00 for a piece of salmon is good value???? we also had a large party of people continually walking through our area who were very rude. Would we go again definitely not!!!!!!! save your money and go to a nice pub. The only highlight of the night was our waitress Sylvia who went above and beyond her job to make sure we were OK. Well done Sylvia hope you get a huge bonus!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bronwynmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amith, General Manager at Sammys On The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2021

Hi Bronwyn

Apologies for your experience..
A bit unfair as Sylvia left us a month before .
But we have investigated on our end and we found that all your guests were very happy with the service and food .
And we even looked after you with the pricing.
So we don't understand the purpose of this review.As per our staff is concerned , again this is very unusual.
Now with the salmon price .. everywhere you go , you will.be paying minimum $35 whether it's a cafe or pub and we charge $38 so where is the difference...??
We have already got one good review from one of your guests .
Please try to be genuine and use this platform wisely and honestly.

Thanks
GM
Sammy's on the Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Very disappointing dining at this restaurant.. Thought it would be nice but alas I was wrong. We ordered king George whiting that was presented quite tragic.
The quality was just not happening. I'm sure it was all pre cooked as it took no time in arriving before our drinks. We were also charged for drinks that didn't arrive but was corrected when we received the bill. We decided not to stay and order any more food as it was a waste of time and money. My husband and I are regulars in dining and fine dining but this place I would not recommend. To sum it up for you, today we came to the pub and ordered the same and enjoyed it immensely without the price tag..

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amith, Owner at Sammys On The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Hi Veronika

No apologies sorry as you have already reviewed us on Google ..
We have a menu which is being designed by a very professional fine dined chef ..
Our menu has got 10 to 15 % of fried only which is loved by our local customers.but you still ordered fried only..?
We source our king George whitening from guality supplier.
We always look after our customers and take constructive feedback for continuous improvement because we care and we are proud of what we do.
We will take your feedback into consideration as well..
But I think it's better you stick to pub food only because quality doesn't matter for you .

Thanks
GM
Sammy's



And n

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

I visited on a Saturday lunchtime for a work event. The food was excellent quality, the location is very good, and the service was good. Nothing spectacular on service or ammenities, but great food.
A great choice for what we needed.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amith, Owner at Sammys On The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Hello Adrian,
we would like to thank you for dining with us on Saturday lunch, we are glade you enjoyed your food and like to apologise about your service, we have just hired new staff and we are training them to the high level of service that we are known for. we love feed back so we can shape our waiting team quickly and to see where they may need help in to achieve that.
Thank you Sammys management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammys On The Marina also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Sammys On The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.