We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
75
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quick tour a great place to stay within walking distance native birds complimentary pick up and drop room was spotless birds including good size half moon bay continental breakfast ferry terminal karina lynn kaka unit hosts oban
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We stayed at Kaka retreat for 3 nights in January.
It is a really lovely motel, the room was spotless. Great little kitchenette and a nice space for dining and sitting around.
The veranda was the best kaka spotting area, and we were visited by at least 6.
We were picked up from the ferry by Karina, who gave us a little tour of Oban, and Lin dropped us of on our departure.
I would recommend Kaka as a great place to stay, loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank micthemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the peaceful, natural surroundings at Kaka Retreat.
Good, spacious room. Great kitchenette and dining area.
Comfortable bed and couch for sitting. Short walk down the hill to the harbour (3 mins), slightly longer coming up!
Friendly Kaka on the balcony :) Free Phone available for local calls. Laundry to use ($4 wash $4 dry). Lovely, helpful staff (thanks Lin). Pick up and drop off both helpful. Willingly put us up an extra night when there was a gale in the strait.
Minor things....
Would like a better selection of pillows, and an insect spray or coil, so the verandah door can be left open (as there are no screens).

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank placidscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We would have been hard pressed to find better lodgings on Stewart Island than we did at Kaka Retreat.The unit was spacious, immaculately clean and very very comfortable. Complimentary preserves were provided along with the usual range of teas and coffees.

We were picked up from the airport "terminal" and right from the word go we were made to feel very welcome and our hosts made sure we had everything we needed.

The motel is aptly named as a retreat. The loudest noise we heard was the birds - including a Kaka.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NI_Travellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We travelled here as part of a wildlife tour and flew to Stewart Island on a very small plane. We were whisked up to the Motel and were delighted by it. The grounds are only small but filled with greenery with birds visiting at all hours. The kakas came to see us almost immediately and the Morepork serenaded us at night. We had a very substantial continental breakfast left in our room for us and the people were extremely friendly and helpful. The motel does not serve dinner but is only a short (but steep) walk away from the harbour-side pub which was equally excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

From the time Karina picked us up from the airport shuttle drop off and gave us a quick tour of Half Moon Bay until she left us before our return flight 3 days later, our time on the island couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Magics70A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews