We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
78
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great place to stay complimentary pick up and drop quick tour within walking distance room was spotless ferry terminal birds including good size beautiful garden half moon bay continental breakfast short walk karina kaka unit parrots hosts
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We travelled here as part of a wildlife tour and flew to Stewart Island on a very small plane. We were whisked up to the Motel and were delighted by it. The grounds are only small but filled with greenery with birds visiting at all hours. The kakas came to see us almost immediately and the Morepork serenaded us at night. We had a very substantial continental breakfast left in our room for us and the people were extremely friendly and helpful. The motel does not serve dinner but is only a short (but steep) walk away from the harbour-side pub which was equally excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

From the time Karina picked us up from the airport shuttle drop off and gave us a quick tour of Half Moon Bay until she left us before our return flight 3 days later, our time on the island couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Magics70A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

High praise to Corinna for her friendliness, hospitality and excellent service during our entire 3-night stay. Upon arrival, she greeted us warmly and drove us through the very steep main streets of Oban to give us the lay of the land, with thorough descriptions of each shop/eatery, including hours of operation. Extremely helpful. The room was impeccably clean and well-stocked with everything we might need, right down to a colander, grater, peeler--some of the items frequently lacking in similar holiday accommodations. The birds right on the Kaka grounds are animated (kakas, even), the grocer is right down the road (the freshly baked bread is awesome), and the Stewart Island Smoked Salmon, next door to Kaka Retreat, is better than what we've had in Scotland and Norway. Kaka Retreat was an excellent base from which to enjoy Stewart Island.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to stay to get the feel of Stewart Island. Nestled in a grove of native trees the site is home to many native birds and in particular the kaka. These birds were out in force to welcome us and to entertain us right on our doorstep.
The units are newly refurbished with very nice bathrooms and kitchens. They were cosy and warm and within easy walking distance to Oban and the ferry.
Highly recommend this place

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank raglan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Lynn & Karina are wonderfully welcoming, the rooms are warm and comfortable with everything you need, and the surroundings peaceful and filled with birdsong. The highlight is of course the Kakas, who make the stay special with their cheeky performances and variety of calls. Even better, it's only a few minutes walk to the waterfront and the heart of Oban. It's Kiwi hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews