We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Journeys - TSS Earnslaw Vintage Steamship Cruises
Save
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys - TSS Earnslaw Vintage Steamship Cruises
from US$73.73
More Info
from US$52.66
More Info
from US$101.82
More Info
from US$104.63
More Info
Reviews (2,500)
Filter reviews
2,500 results
Traveller rating
1,644
635
157
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,644
635
157
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room farm tour sheep shearing walter peak steam ship bbq lunch steamers lake wakatipu piano player feeding the animals morning tea red deer sheep station dinner cruise lovely trip boat trip lamb
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 2,500 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

My husband and I were on a guided tour of New Zealand and this was part of the tour. The cruise on the boat was interesting, since it was a steamboat. On the way back to Queenstown, there was a sing-a-long. They handed out booklets with the songs and lyrics. At the dining venue, the food wasn't that good. I don't remember what I had, but I do remember the food being dry, except for dessert. They had a few mini style desserts so you could try a few different things. There was a lovely garden, which was right out front of the dining room. I spent about an hour enjoying the sight and smells. My husband went to the show and said that it was very interesting and well worth the time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank alpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

This is advertised, to put it crudely, as a trip across the lake to a sheep station on a steamship; a bbq and a shearing/ sheep dog demo before a singalong on the way back. But so many people on trip advisor highly recommend so we followed their advice and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
I think there was b/w 60 - 70 guests on board as we set off across the lake at 6 pm. Enjoyed the drinks from the bar, commentary and also had a peek in the mini museum that takes in the history of the Ernslaw. The venue for the ‘bbq’ was a huge venue that provided table service for drinks and a smorgasbord style dining experience of a very high quality and even though the venue was feeding scores of people it was done in a very orderly fashion so there was no unnecessary queuing and you didn’t feel like you missed out on anything. The meats were presented ‘bbq’ style and as a carvery and the highlight was the variety and the quality of the desserts! We did have a quick look at the gift shop after dinner but didn’t attend the sheep shearing pavilion (which most did, and from the laughter heard must have been entertained). Few more drinks on the way back to finish off the night and from what we could here from our position below deck quite a number did join in for a singalong around the piano!
A great experience!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Chapps1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We sat downstairs on the way across and couldn’t hear any of the announcements. Getting onto the boat was quite hectic with lots of tourists pushing and shoving. Quite scenic after everyone was seated.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank TristanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

TSS earnslaw is a lovely steamship and ticks the nostalgia box, but is really overcrowded. We took two children, a three year old and a ten year old. They loved being able to go below to see the inner workings of the engine which was fun. But it was so jammed pack there was no room to sit and barely a place to stand where you weren’t in someone’s way, or stuck in a void of nothingness. It was disappointing in how chockablock/overcrowded it was.

The farm experience was a bit lame, it was only a very brief sheep shearing demonstration and a quick farm dog rounding up of sheep demonstration. After that you could hand feed some sheep, cows, deer or alpaca. But it was all very bland and wasn’t really a farm experience. The kids were a little underwhelmed and didn’t really come away feeling excited by any of it. It feels like it was set up to perform to Asian tourists and not much else and felt fake. Given the huge crowds they were dealing with i guess there’s not much else they can do.

The morning tea was nice and plentiful. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The grounds have beautiful flower gardens which photo savvy folks might appreciate.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the cruise on the "lady of the lake", on our way to the farm we had a nice glass of wine in the salloon on the second floor listening to live piano music. On our way back we explored the ship, the museum, the machine room and all the different viewing areas, it is absolutely beautiful!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Scenic763757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews