We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$907
US$540
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$608
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azur(Queenstown)
US$813
US$759
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinross Cottages(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$130
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
US$2,158
US$976
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
577
137
43
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
137
43
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandsmall hoteljuliet balconygreat hostsperfect locationeach morninghot breakfastother guestsshort walktop flooryogurtbreakfast was excellentsitting roomsmall balconystayed longera wonderful staytown centre
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Queenstown was packed, hotels were full. We managed to find a room at Brown's so were delighted to have somewhere nice to stay.
However they were charging around 750 NZ$ per night on a B&B basis and that is clearly abusing the system. It is not worth that price.
The place is nice but rather old fashioned and run by people who are friendly but a bit fussy.
The standard of the room, the service, breakfast are all OK but nowhere near worth that price.
We have done a lot of travelling and stayed in many different types of accommodation and we know when hotels are taking the mickey and over charging because they can and they are not delivering on quality.
This is quite rampant at the moment in many parts of NZ. The last few years have seen a huge rise in tourism and there is not always the infrastructure and trained staff to cope with the demand. Hotels know that people want rooms so they put their prices up, sometimes massively. At some point this will backfire.
We've had some rooms in NZ which were lovely and fairly priced with a great service. Not enough though.
Francis

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Songodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in a Premium King room. When we arrived, we were shown around by Warren, our host. He had great suggestions on things to see and do as well as places to dine out. This is an older property with character. While some of the furnishings seemed a bit worn, our king bed was super comfortable. The bath and shower were adequate. There was a small deck attached to our first floor room that overlooked the hotel's outdoor patio and had views of the town, the lake and the surrounding mountains. Parking was free but tight, presenting a challenge when coming and going. The properties around the hotel were not impressive, but the Kiwi Park and the Gondola were close by. The restaurants in town were within walking distance. Breakfasts were excellent with hot and cold options.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We were surprised to find Brown's in the middle of a residential area, but the charm began the moment Warren greeted us at the door and opened the door to our comfortable and nicely appointed rooms. Bathroom is large, bed is comfortable, Breakfast was lovely with many many choices. So very happy we found Browns months before our trip. They were kind enough to store luggage in between our departure on the Routeburn Hike and again while we were away in Milford Sound on a small ship overnight. Highly recommend this quiet , and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kerbyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

This is the perfect hotel for your stay in Queenstown. This is a smaller and more intimate hotel which keeps you comfortable and warm on those cold winter nights. The town centre is within walking distance of this hotel. We were a little unsure of the communal breakfast set-up in the mornings but this turned out to be really enjoyable with great conversation about the "must sees" and "must dos" being discussed with travellers you meet from all over the globe. The breakfast was fantastic - especially the eggs benedict!!!! Our hosts could not have made us feel more welcome. We were really happy with our top floor room - room 10. Very comfortable and great views.

Room Tip: Room 10 - top floor, comfortable , quiet and great views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KDWatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Well run, small boutique hotel in nice location overlooking Queenstown - within walking distance of shops, restaurants, gondola ride, etc. for those who can walk hilly terrain; but otherwise taxis handy - room pleasant, nice view, breeze (although closeness of next-door household be an issue if they party); excellent breakfast, service; friendly host. Stayed three nights and would do it again. Cons - no elevator/lift for those physically challenged - but ground floor rooms available and short stairs to breakfast room; parking (very) limited.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thecommissioner41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews