We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive meals and great staff ”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown
Ranked #40 of 272 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Family friendly and super friendly staff. Massive meals, frosty beers and tasty cocktails!! What more could you want after a hard day on the slopes!

Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review Margaret L, we love to know when our valued guests have enjoyed their time with us. With our varied menu there is something for everyone to enjoy- and our generous potions mean that no one will leave hungry!
Come see us again when you next need to unwind after a day up the mountain,
The team at Lone Star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whole family have each had a delicious meal when we went there this week. With servings so generous that you can get a piece of everyone’s dinner proudly offered to you. The service is friendly and attentive. We felt so special and we’ll go tomorrow and come again when we’re next in Queenstown.

Thank Bsa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving us a review Bsa20, its great to hear that you and your whole family enjoyed your time dining with us! We love to give all our guests the full Lone Star experience - awesome food, great atmosphere, and service with a smile.
Come see us again for your next feast,
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The first time we visited this restaurant it was 1993. 25 years later it still rates as a hearty enjoyable feed. The staff (especially Pete) are fabulous as is the food. Nothing better than their signature ribs on a cold Queenstown night! Consistently good food after all these years. Have been to many of their locations around the country but this one rates as the best.
The only regret was the lack of more local wines. Only saw 2 on the drinks menu.

Thank fran039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review fran039, it's so lovely to hear that you have enjoyed coming to the Lone Star for all these years! We love to get to know our guests and its so awesome when they keep coming back for those mouthwatering ribs and legendary staff members. We do indeed have two wines from central Otago - the Saddleback and the Roaring meg Pinot Noir. We like to have a good variety on the rest of the list, as well as a monthly special, so there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Please come see us again soon for another night of good food,
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love All Lonestars. Love this one for its great fire. consistently good food and service.
I always go at least once when in Qtown

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review Allison H! Its great to hear that you always enjoy your time with us. We love to keep our guests toasty warm in winter with our open fires, mulled wine and wholesome dishes.
Come visit us again when your feeling a bit chilly,
The Team at Lone Star

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered kids menu ribs and tortillas. And fish steak and rib eye steak they were fantastic....


Worth the money....

Jack, The waitperson was helpful and informative about our meals

Keep up the good works...!

Thank DanielMuljanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review DanielMuljanto, its great to hear that you enjoyed the food and service here. With our varied menu and hearty meal sizes, all our delicious dishes are great value and no one will leave feeling hungry!
Come see us again for another tasty night out,
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing