We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Tayesta(Invercargill)
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Villa Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Queens Park Motels(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Lodge Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
46
86
40
21
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
86
40
21
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdated hotelgrand old ladychicken breastboth dinner and breakfastsports barcentral locationhaving a bad daybluff oystersblue codhotel staffsmall balconyfantastic locationno vacancyroom was spaciousmiddle of townseafood chowderexcellent restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here a couple of times recently and it is certainly not top end accommodation but is reliable and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and clean but nothing more. Walking past a laundry to my room makes it feel a little like a hostel. Service is always friendly. Overall value for money but not a place to go for that special trip away.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank JRD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I have been here before, and this time the visit was better. I had a great room on the fourth floor, that was roomy and clean. The shower was one of the best I have had, in my stays in hotels, over the years.
The restaurant had a great roast on, the Thursday, with the evening meals of good quality.
The hotel, is in the best location, in the middle of town, with in easy walking distance to many attractions.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 62Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We do a lot to maintain the hotel and love to hear it when people say things are improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The Kelvin is conveniently located right in the middle of Invercargill, so handy to all shops and restaurants. The room was spacious, clean and good value for money. We opted to eat at the restaurant after a few drinks in the first floor lounge. The service was excellent and the surroundings were pleasant. Most importantly the food was very good, we had Bluff Oysters, Seafood Chowder, and Blue Cod, all delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello Allan,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Ended up here for New Years Eve 2017/18. great comfy beds, amazing breakfast int he morning. all the trimmings, everything you could want. very helpful staff and everything especially considering time of year. if i'm ever in invercargill again, big if, then i'll be here for sure.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank alexmccloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your nice comments and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

we were given a tiny room.it was clean.we sat in the lobby for a while and talked to front desk for a larger room.they obliged which was nice! rooms were clean and looked well refurbished.stay as such was pleasant!

Room Tip: no views--in downtown
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arif Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for staying. Please note Doubles are the smallest room size, that is why they are the cheapest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews