We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Waxy's Irish Pub

Waxy's Irish Pub
Ranked #12 of 109 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Great pub with large dining restuarant - good varied menu and on the main shopping street in Invercargill - usually pretty busy place.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If I have a criticism it is that the service is too quick. We eat early and were lucky as most tables had reserved signs on them. Enjoyed our meal the first night so returned again the next night. Wait staff were really cheerful and helpful when
questioned about the menu. Would recommend you reserve a table if you want to dine later than 6 o'clock.j

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank waikino28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thanks for your review, we will take on board your criticism as we are always looking at ways that we can improve, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2021

We recently visited Invercargill and dined here. The Guinness went down well along with really good, well priced food and very good service. Highly recommended

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank visionplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish B, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Hi, thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, kind regards the Waxys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

Absolutely terrible to say the very least! Brought our family out celebrate an anniversary to get there and have 2 rude staff members with poor disappointing service, hard under cooked wedges and fries, reccived multiple dirty looks through out the night also. Talked to another paying guest and was just as disgusted as us. This pub is 110% not worth your time let alone money!!! If your wanting great service and amazing food this is NOT the place to go.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Libnz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish B, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Hi, I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not up to our standard. We pride ourselves on our service standard and i am very sorry that you felt this way. I will be discussing this with the staff to ensure that our high standards are maintained. Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

After waiting almost two hours for our food, the lamb was over cooked. My wife's bangers and mash was almost uneatable.
It was so bad, we weren't charged for the food.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 980phils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish B, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Hi,
I am extremely sorry that your experience with us wasn't up to our normal standard, we do hope that you can visit again so that you can experience the fantastic service and food that we pride ourselves on.Kind regards Kelly and the Waxys team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021

I wish I could have experienced this bar out of Level 2. It was a great place to sit and watch the world go by with a pint of Monteiths. The staff were really nice and delivered my beers to the outside table where you can have a smoke. Nice atmosphere and nice punters. Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waxy's Irish Pub also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Waxy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.