We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
285
61
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
61
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree netflixgeorge sthuge tvcity centrevisit dunedinfriendly ownersparking on sitewithin easy walking distanceexcellent hostsplace to staytwo bedroom unitbed was very comfortablethe kitchenhandy locationsky tvvery pleasant staydefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

This is a lovely motel managed by a sweet and dedicated couple. They were so kind in settling us in and recommending restaurants and sights in the area. Our very spacious and tastefully decorated suite was very comfortable. The bathroom well lit, stocked and roomy. The kitchen area had everything to prepare a meal - large or small.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TrvCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Donna D, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a lovely review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

The check in was so welcoming, it felt like we were visiting old friends. The location is close to a bunch of good food. A beautiful city, and we booked a tour with Elm Wildlife Tours which we will never forget. Had penguins walk within a few feet of us after emerging from the surf!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Donna D, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Stayed for a few days in Autumn. The welcome was warm, the owners very helpful & honest, the 1 bedroom (with spa bath) was great, & the location great to explore the area. Only a short walk to some nice eating spots. Slightly longer (approx 1km) to the CBD, but very do-able. With just a little but of research you will see this is indeed a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Donna D, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Check in was probably one of the friendliest and most helpful check ins we’ve ever had! We received so many recommendations of things to do while in town which was really helpful.

Everything adds up while travelling so free parking and WiFi were very important to us. The free parking was so easy and the free WiFi so fast which were big winners.

Our room was huge, comfortable and clean. The kitchenette had everything we could have needed and the bathroom was amazing. The highlight was the make up wipes and dark make up face washer! I ruined so many white towels with my make up over the trip and it was a great touch!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank richendacox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Donna D, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

We needed a night as stop off on way through to Invercargill from Christchurch. It was pot luck that we booked the Amross. Some. Motels in New Zealand can be old, cold and miserable, but this place was a very pleasant surprise.

Welcomed on arrival and shown the room. User choice satellite tv and Netflix available. The hosts were also able to point us in the right direction for dinner too.

The rooms were bright, spotlessly clean and sufficiently warm. The bed was comfortable and linen of decent quality.

When you find a place like this it is always a shame there was not an extra night, but we will keep Amross in mind for futuretrips south

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry Donna D, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews