We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Elm Wildlife Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dunedin
from US$68.90
More Info
from US$84.90
More Info
from US$138.40
More Info
from US$23.70
More Info
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
729
73
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
73
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions fur seals private beach albatross center exclusive access otago peninsula private farm new zealand conservation area great tour small group private reserve knowledgeable guides seal colony their natural habitat yellow eyed and blue penguins within feet
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We enjoyed an amazing tour with Elm Wildlife Tours back in January. We were on a cruise ship and opted to tour with a company separate to the hoards of tourists coming off the boat. We were in a very small group and were led by a very knowledgeable tour guide. We loved the visit to the Albatross Centre but the absolute highlight was the private farm where we were able to visit the NZ Fur Seals and Sea Lions on the beach. It was an incredible experience and we loved every minute of it. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

I know its joining the minions with the tourist thing but there are not many places you can get to see the wildlife without fences between you. Our tour guide Donna was awesome, we were unfortunate that the albatross were not playing the game, so didnt get to see any close up, but the seals, penguins and sealions were a different story..... what amazing animals, so relaxed around humans. Donna was full of knowledge on all the birds and mammels.
The hike back up the stairs was murder on the legs, but we were able to just take our time, the walk back up the hill was slightly more pleasent, once again, able to take our time, stop for a break, take in the stunning view. The sunset over the water on the way back was amazing. would totally recommend this tour

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Lovely day, lovely experience. Tour guide was excellent and knowledgeable, we learned many things on the tour and got to observe many kinds of animals first hand. Would recommend.

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rlf12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Guide was very friendly and super informative. Incredibly picturesque. Got very close to yellow eyed penguins and hooker sealions and saw many birds and fur seals as well. Enjoyed all the changes to get out of the van and walk through some amazing scenery. Definitely recommend this tour especially if you're interested in conservation.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We were collected halfway along the peninsula (near our cottage) & 1st stop was the Albatross Centre, where we were guided to a top viewing stop- the windiest place!
Our guide-Sean- was informative, friendly & enthusiastic providing a superb & memorable experience -Many thanks! We were out for 5 hours.
The drive to the penguin conservation provided many wading bird photo opportunities, we even saw a stoat!
As described when booking, there are a couple of downhill walks to the beach, where the sea lions & penguins can be viewed & the seal pools. It was awesome to see the penguins coming out of the sea & climb the mammoth hill to their nest sights! As well as helping a little to protect them.
Be sure to take some extra layers of clothing even if it is a warm day.
We were also lucky enough to go to see the young sea lions playing in their creche pool!
Highly recommended would hope to return one day!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jac385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews