We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
4
8
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
8
7
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel looks derelict or under construction. Cracks on walls and ceiling, broken carpets, pipes and building materials everywhere. Rooms separated by almost cardbox pannels not reaching the ceiling, so very noisy. In my opinion it should be closed.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank ViajeraJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Staff was very kind to accommodate us despite that we checked in a day early; our room was very simple yet large enough for 3 people; shared bath but never expected that there would just be one toilet and one bathroom (with very confusing gents/ladies sign); soft bed but saw few stains in the sheets; very dim hallways; because it is really an old hotel, wood creaks can be heard every now and then but the really old lift was just too loud especially late at night and very early in the morning; no wi-fi(have to pay); towels were changed everyday but the room was never cleaned; kitchen looks really old and messy (with a rusty/melting microwave oven, toaster, and stained utensils); all things said - hotel is very much affordable, about 5 minutes walk to the central bus stop and it is right in the CBD (expect the noise of cars all the time) so restaurants/shops and other touristy places are accessible; very helpful and friendly staff, too

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kristisydney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

As the title implies, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, but the dorm rooms were below average, compared to other hostels. Lack of power sockets in the room, noisy generator buzzing all night, messy bathroom etc.
Would not recommend, if you have alternatives

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Lucas Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Cheap. A few blocks from the bus station which is why I stayed here. It was fine for one night. 1930s building I would guess and looks every day of its age. The gent checking me in was very ind and patient, marking up a map for me with suggestions for nearby food and drink.

It was cheap, about $100 NZ plus $5 more for very god internet that lasted me all night with lots to spare.

I would stay there again under the same circumstances but I don't think for more than one night. Check-out time is a ridiculous 10 am so mind that if it impacts your plans. The 2 for 1 drinks ticket at the pub next door was a nice touch.

So...Functional. Practical. Cheap. Funky, but not necessarily in the best sense.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

This venue is a 100 year old pub at the outer end of Colombo St. Yes, rooms are simple however they are very spacious with roomy bathroom (we had a double room), bar fridge, big TV, kettle and that goes with it. Pleasantly surprised to find all this and towels, soap, hand cream and 2 for 1 drink voucher for the bar below. Bed extremely comfortable. All the staff were wonderful, helping us booking tours or cabs and late check out, and all done with a smile. Loved having a chat with them all.
The main city centre is only 10 to 20 mins walk away at most so this is the perfect place to stay when on budget but want comfort and accessibility too.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews