We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lorenzo Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
1,057
317
98
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
317
98
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearpescatore restaurantsmall luxury hotelpark suitenew zealandturn down servicehagley parkjunior suiteheated floorslovely hotelbeautiful parkour honeymoonavon riverbotanical gardensvictoria streetsouth islandnice room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff were exceptional, for example the concierge sorted out the return of our hire care for us and saved us a fortune! We had beautiful room, the bar and restaurant were first class. Everything was luxurious and we felt very pampered fro the few days we were there. The hotel is conveniently situated and it was a short walk of about 20 minutes into the city centre. We wished we were staying longer here but we had to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank B705EGjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear B705EGjohnw
We are thrilled everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay with us. It is especially pleasing to hear that you left us feeling pampered and that the service you encountered during your time with us really stood out for you. We do hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only in this very pleasant hotel for one night but we were welcomed from the start, especially as it was pouring with rain. Very comfortable room, complimentary drink offered shortly after we arrived in the room. Another surprise was the presentation of a George bear with chocolates - greatly appreciated. We sampled the bar meals as we had already eaten well. The fish with basket of chips and fresh coleslaw was more than adequate and delicious, especially when served politely. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and offered plenty of variety. Unfortunately the All Blacks were not in residence, which would have completed the trip! Looking for luxury and the chance to explore the exciting developments taking place in Christchurch? Then stay here, you won’t be disappointed. George, the bear, has settled well in the UK!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank le0drag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear le0drag0n
We are very pleased to hear that so many aspects of your recent stay with us, from the moment you stepped inside, including the comfort of your room, our Bar and breakfast offering, and the service you received from our team, all combined to ensure your stay was such an enjoyable experience. We are also delighted George Bear has been so warmly welcomed and is now settled living in his new home! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose The George based on reviews from this site and we weren’t disappointed with the highlight being the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Starting with Gene at the front desk and continuing with the team in restaurant 50 and the bar we could not fault the willingness to help.

Some great recommendations for breakfast, dinner and funky bars and also which wineries to visit.

We were upgraded to a junior suite and our room was very comfortable. A great touch with the turndown service was the arrival of George the bear.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leoharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear leoharney
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you chose to stay with us based on the reviews you had read online and that we met all your expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed and appreciated the service you received from all of our team, the comfort of your room and our special turn-down gift! Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent acouple of days at The George on business this time and were accompanied by two Japanese Customers who, like me, were most impressed. The hotel was very busy with the Golden Oldies Tournament in town, and this week was Rugby's turn. Even so, the level of Service was outsanding! Everybody goes to the extreme to ensure you are happy and exceptionally well looked after. It is a great pleasure to keep returning

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RaelynandGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RaelynandGregg
It is always such a pleasure for us to welcome back our valued returning guests and once again we are delighted your recent stay, and particularly the service you encountered, was consistent with previous ones. We look forward, as always, to welcoming you back on your next visit and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the George without great expectations of anything other than a standard city hotel. Couldn't have been more wrong! The service from the concierge Mark in particular was excellent. We had been upgraded to a fantastic room and the hotel is ideally placed to walk into the city. We just had one night here as we were picking up the Tranz Alpine railway the next day which is a shame as we experienced some of the best service and facilities of our tour of NZ. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186402Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 186402Jane
We are thrilled you have rated our facilities and the service you received whilst with us as some of the best on your NZ tour. We are delighted we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations, and that it was the service you received from all our team, but particularly from Mark our Concierge, that left such an impression on you. Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews