We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
1,110
326
100
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
326
100
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bear pescatore restaurant small luxury hotel park suite upgraded to a junior suite new zealand turn down service hagley park lovely hotel our honeymoon beautiful park avon river underfloor heating botanical gardens victoria street south island nice room
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We arrived at the George without great expectations of anything other than a standard city hotel. Couldn't have been more wrong! The service from the concierge Mark in particular was excellent. We had been upgraded to a fantastic room and the hotel is ideally placed to walk into the city. We just had one night here as we were picking up the Tranz Alpine railway the next day which is a shame as we experienced some of the best service and facilities of our tour of NZ. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186402Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear 186402Jane
We are thrilled you have rated our facilities and the service you received whilst with us as some of the best on your NZ tour. We are delighted we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations, and that it was the service you received from all our team, but particularly from Mark our Concierge, that left such an impression on you. Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Stayed for a night before and 2 nights after a South Island Tour. A good location across the road from the park and within a 10 mins walk to the centre of town (or less if you use the tram). Hotel easily accessible by road from the airport and convenient for driving onwards as part of a tour. Really relaxing quiet place to stay. Comfy rooms, pleasant restaurant with really good food. Staff very helpfully with plenty of ides on what to see and do and places to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Got to The George after long ride from Te Anau. Mark from the front desk got us settled in our room and explained all controls to the room and changes since the remodel. Room was very nice the blinds were set up on remote along with lighting. The girls will like that the bathroom floor and seat are heated. The hotel is a boutique hotel and very comfortable. It is nicely located to walk to most places of interest and restaurants. The hotel has a nice breakfast and the bar with Jonathon was ready to make almost any drink. Very knowledgeable,

Room Tip: The Hennessey or the other rooms located near the garden
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveVP2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear DaveVP2016
We are very pleased your recent stay with us was a comfortable and enjoyable one and that you especially appreciated the convenience of our location to nearby attractions and facilities, our breakfast offering and the service you encountered, both from our Concierge and bar staff. We hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We hadn't booked a hotel in Christchurch and came across the George as we were driving through the centre and stopped to see if they had any rooms. The rooms were larger than average and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A very pleasant play to stay

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pjacksonmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear pjacksonmbe
We are delighted you stopped on your journey through the city and decided to stay with us and that everything met with your satisfaction, from the comfort of your room to the friendly, helpful service you received. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

The George Christchurch generously donated a night and breakfast to the St John of God Hauora Trust auction night and gala dinner to help people with disabilities and young people in need.
We bid for that night and just enjoyed a fabulous stay. The rooms are beautiful and the service excellent. Had a lovely breakfast this morning. Thumbs up to The George. We will be back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kayteedee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews