We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,707)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveller rating
1,177
437
77
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,177
437
77
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business level business room pattersons restaurant free shuttle indoor pool new zealand on demand excellent hotel shuttle service next morning south island rental car antarctic centre long flight comfortable beds stayed one night sauna
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

overnight stay prior to international flight. Excellent prompt check-in, porter took care of our luggage to room, great beds and peaceful garden outlook.
Enjoyed dinner at Restaurant,just a pity they have changed their house wine from Koripiko as it was a favourite of ours. Busy place but always good service, meals a bit pricey but hot and tasty
Would stay again, excellent minibus shuttle and service

Room tip: All rooms on upper level a bit quieter less traffic past the door
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear Gay B
We do enjoy being able to welcome back our return guests to the Commodore Hotel. It is always good to receive comments such as yours to know that our team are offering excellent service.
We do make changes to our menu and wine lists on a regular basis and apologise that we have taken off your favourite Koripiko.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Commodore again.
Kind regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Great place clean comfortable not your average airport motel great facilities ( gym sauna spa and pool out door big screen and fireplace) great food, and excellent helpful staff staff. Highly recommend

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 143deanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear Dean R
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us at the Commodore Hotel. It was unfortunate that you did miss your connecting flight, however we had the pleasure of showing you what we have to offer at the Commodore.

Kind regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

I spent two nights here and was very happy with the quiet, comfortable room, the facilities, the excellent and generous buffet food (I was part of a tour party) and the friendly, helpful staff. It was disappointing though, especially given the high profile right now of sustainability and especially reduction in single-use plastics, to see that straws are still being automatically put in drinks here. Not even one straw, but two per glass!

When I spoke to the barman about it and suggested that he at the very least ask beforehand if someone actually wants a straw, he shrugged it off and said it wasn't his decision and he was just doing as he was told. I think that if the hotel isn't prepared to do something as simple and obvious as cutting their use of plastic straws, then the rest of their processes are thrown into doubt, environmentally speaking. The hotel management really needs to rethink this, straight away.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear TravelSkite
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us at the Commodore Hotel. Your comments with regards to sustainability are certainly valid and we do take pride in offering a sustainability programme throughout the hotel. It was unfortunate that the night in question we had simply run out of paper straws and we had to revert back to a supply of plastic.
We do hope if you ever have the opportunity to travel to New Zealand again that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Commodore.
Yours sincerely
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Great place. There were a lot of us staying down for a major competition and I do not know of anyone having any issues (except we did empty a few of their Kegs in the bar). Everything was great including the arrival, reception experience, the rooms, bar area and meals ( both breakfast and dinner). Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for something similar. Thanks to all the staff. You were great.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 50CHVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear 50CHVN
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us at the Commodore Hotel. Large groups can sometimes be difficult to manage, but our staff do a fantastic job ensuring all meals are out on time.
Thanks for recommending us and we do hope we can welcome you back again to the Commodore when you are visiting Christchurch.
Kind regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

This place doesn't feel like a typical close to airport business orientated hotel. From the very warm welcome to the on going amazing, friendly service this hotel felt homely. The hotel is all about sustainability which is refreshing. Food is amazing and the airport shuttle is very efficient. Strongly recommended for business trips and transits.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sunshine292541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear Sunshine292541
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us at the Commodore Hotel. We do have a great team and it is always good to hear we are offering great service to our guests.
Sustainability is something we are continuing to work on and I am sure there is still more we can offer.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Commodore again soon.
Kind regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews