We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punting !!”

Punting on the Avon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.80*
and up
Punting on the Avon River with Optional...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing. Your Edwardian Punter will guide you quietly past trailing willows, woodlands and leafy banks as you absorb the beauty of Christchurch’s Botanic Gardens. Punting on the beautiful Avon River is an iconic Christchurch attraction not to be missed. Each Punting tour is 30 minutes duration with informative commentary, and you are returned to your point of departure.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was a bit cloudy when we arrived at our appointed time for our punt on the Avon ! But it was not a problem as when we had made ourselves comfortable onboard the punt - a bit of a to do for this older fat lady !- we were offered a blanket and an umbrella !! Our lovely young man (do you call him the punter ?) was dressed in period clothes and gave us a running commentary on the area as we drifted along. He was very knowledgeable and was able to answer questions with ease. All in all a lovely way to spend an afternoon - but I am sure I was the entertainment when it came time to get out at the end amidst many giggles I finally managed to get myself up and out - I am sure it was not a pretty sight ! Thoroughly recommend

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking a ride out on the Avon with us!
There is no graceful way to get in or out of a punt boat. The low floor is deceptively deep and even the most experienced 'puntees' will always have difficulty, especially after the legs are jelly-like from the relaxing ride. We have staff on hand to help though, so it is very manageable but can often be entertaining.
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We would love to take you out for a ride again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 36 reviews
"boat ride"
in 14 reviews
"relaxing ride"
in 12 reviews
"blankets and hot water bottles"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful experience"
in 4 reviews
"grand tour"
in 6 reviews
"sunny day"
in 9 reviews
"trout"
in 4 reviews
"hagley park"
in 4 reviews
"new zealand"
in 8 reviews
"punters"
in 83 reviews
"ducks"
in 47 reviews
"punts"
in 27 reviews
"boatman"
in 9 reviews
"activity"
in 26 reviews
"gondolier"
in 5 reviews
"photos"
in 24 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did the punting on a beautiful day, and it was memorable. It was 30 min but I wish it would be longer than that. Because the surroundings were beautiful, serene, all the birds and ducks having fun all around our boat, you can see people run, sit or walk in the park next to the river.

Thank Tulanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you got a beautiful day to experience your punting tour. The scenery and surrounding views are always lovely but are even more special when the weather is good.
Thank you again and please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

It was lovely to see and experience such an olde worlde attraction.
The lovely young gentlemen working here really enjoyed their jobs and were true gentlemen.
Our punter was very well informed about the Avon River and Christchurch in general.
John serenading our departure with Figaro was an added bonus.

2  Thank YLisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time out on the river with us!
We try our best to stay true to the essence of punting and to deliver an experience that is a close representation of how it would have been experienced in punting's heyday. We are lucky to have John employed with us for a short while before he takes his talents to the rest of the world.
Please do come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful boat ride. Felt like we had travelled back in time. Though it was windy today it wasn't too cold. They provided a blanket for any cold knees. Views along the wonderful Avon river was green and fantastic. We loved the birdlife!

1  Thank RichardBejah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We are now moving through the cooler months and blankets are almost becoming essential. However, the views are still great, regardless what time of year you choose to go out on a ride.
Thank you kindly for coming out on a tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I had the greatest time with a few friends punting the Avon. The boat guides are remarkable in their endeavour to be true to the traditional English style of punting including stylish costumes. You will feel spoilt riding this lovely river! I highly recommend this experience to all.

Thank 271jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate your kind words and recognition of the Punting's traditional English origins.
Please do come back out on the river with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punting on the Avon also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Punting on the Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing