We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
110
86
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
86
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station free shuttle tranz alpine next morning bus service one night train trip ami stadium tidy room road noise comfortable stay place to stay convenient location double bed two bedroom apartment shopping centre within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

What a great location for seeing events at AMI and Horncastle arena. The bus into the city was around the corner with food and bars nearby. Motel was clean and tidy and we had a good night's sleep in a comfy bed. We were even transported to the station the next morning.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ukescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Great motel to stay. Handy walking distance to good places to eat. Superb service, came back later one evening to find heater in unit had been turned on along with the lights. We did the Tranzalpine and it was great that our host dropped us off in the morning and was waiting for us when we returned. We definitely recommend the Arena. Thank you for making our trip to Christchurch so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tricia5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

I took two rooms at the Arena Motel and had a comfortable night with my wife, sister and her two sons. Wifi was good and the TV had some 50 ski channels. The manager was very attentive and all round we had a very nice stay.

This motel is well located if you are travelling on the Transalpine Train. The Christchurch Train Station is about Kilometre away. About another kilometre after the Train Station is the Westfield Mall.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived after midnight but our room had been well prepared and heated. Our family suite was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen. Good location. It costed ~10NZD by Uber to Canterbury Museum and Botanical Garden, which was accessible by bus too. The host Jessica personally sent us to train station, which was just few minutes away.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank YNINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We needed a place close to Alpine Train station to stay for one night in recent trip to New Zealand and booked at Arena. Owner, Jessica, was awesome! I feel like she adopted us due to a couple travel issues we were having and she graciously helped us with tracking down a list item from a bus ride and shipping it to us in Australia after we had continued on our trip. She has very clean rooms and very close to train station. They are not fancy but beds were quite comfortable and she had awesome French press coffee in each room with a kitchenette if you wanted to heat up something or chill drinks. She also allowed us to do a little laundry while staying there. We stayed one night at beginning of trip and one night at end of trip due to a route that circled the South Island and flying g in and out of Christchurch. We definitely recommend Arena! Thanks for all your help Jessica!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Poodle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews