We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #87 of 1,063 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The menu is great for sharing and trying lots of different things - awesome corn chip and guac and particularly loved the 1/2 pound of prawns! Service was very efficient and lovely staff.

Thank KaylaWard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for such an awesome review! Our 1/2 pound of prawns is definitely a crowd favorite, we're glad to hear you enjoyed yourself at our establishment and hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

We went in for a meal before a rugby match so our time was limited. Great quick service and good food. The menu choice is varied with something for all palettes - not just fish! Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah5368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for such a great review! We aspire to cater to everyone's needs and cravings so we're happy to hear that your group found something for everyone! We hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We returned to this restaurant for another very successful visit. Staff very efficient and attentive. The seafood is wonderful - very fresh and tasty. Overall a great experience which is why we continuously return when in Wellington.

Thank GoodFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review! We're happy to hear that we continue to live up to your expectations every time you visit us and we hope to see you again on your next trip down to Wellywood!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

This is a very well run establishment, great staff and service for somewhere with such a high turnover of customers. Food is super tasty and wide ranging, not cutting edge gourmet but just good quality served in a nice environment with friendly staff. Great for families, groups and socials

Thank snowsfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for such a great review! We endeavor to provide a fantastic experience to all our customers and I'm glad we hit the nail on the head for yet another happy customer! Hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Visiting from overseas and popped in through recommendation from our hotel. We had to wait for a table, but realised why upon leaving the restaurant. The food was tasty and well portioned catering for the children well. Our waiter came over at the beginning of the meal and introduced himself as Connor. The service really was something special; he was attentive, talkative, full of character and an overall asset to the restaurant. If you find yourself in Wellington, definitely stop by the crab shack for dinner and if you can, request for Connor to be your waiter. The food was of very good quality, yet came out in good timing and the restaurant seemed to be fairly informal still, with funky 80's classics setting an atmosphere all night. The lady at the till asked how our meal was and everyone seemed to be super smiley and helpful, which is important, so it really is a shame we run out of time, because otherwise we would have definitely been back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j0hnbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review! Conor is a great waiter and I will definitely pass this review on to him. We strive to provide the best service in a laid back environment and We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing