We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Weta Workshop
from US$44.72
More Info
from US$65.36
More Info
from US$58.48
More Info
from US$25.46
More Info
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveller rating
1,300
650
256
61
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,300
650
256
61
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews behind the scenes special effects wings mini museum movie props cave tour movie buff movie making hobbit fan chain mail gift shop lotr fans film industry king kong richard taylor cool stuff short movie
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A really interesting place to visit as you get to see how they create all those wonderful special effects and miniature models. It's amazing to see how it all works!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jgrob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I really warm recommend this place. We are feel well, all the time.Very interesting and we have fun in there. They are very awesome.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank bdvera77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We did the combo tour with the weta workshop and Thunderbirds are go tour. Both tours are well worth it, even walking round the gift shop is worth it. Also watched the video, informative.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank JaneneKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WetaStudioTours, Guest Relations Manager at Weta Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi JaneneKerry,

Sounds like you made the most of all we have to offer at Weta Studio Tours!

Cheers for visiting,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We went to 2 tours this week (miniature stage for thunder birds stage and the Weta cave workshop tour). They were both great and was surprised that they talked about so much about what movies etc they have been involved in. like previous reviews dress warm as its rather cold in the sheds.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Julez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

This was part of a tour I did. As I did not follow "Lord of the Rings" it was new to me. What surprised me was that they also did "Thunderbirds" along with a lot of other movies. It was interesting as they manufactured the life like figures that I saw in the World War 1 exhibition.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews