We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Weta Workshop
from US$80.75
More Info
from US$45.64
More Info
from US$77.24
More Info
from US$115.86
More Info
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
150
54
19
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
54
19
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews special effects behind the scenes wings red carpet tours creative team tour guide movie making science fiction cool stuff king kong gift shop movie magic movie industry great stories amazing tour movie buff minute tour
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

A good insight into what is done by Weta workshop. Very skilled people and the imagination is amazing. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable and we enjoyed it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank rachm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t what I expected, was hoping for more of an insight into how things were made and shown through more of the workshop. Saying that the tour was still pretty cool however tbh $45 each was a bit steep. Tour guide Cam ran the tour real well too!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Jwdan Awaski S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

There are 2 Weta workshops/caves. The one we did was in what looked like an office building (not the one with statues outside) and the other was the more obvious tourist one further along. To get the office one you need to book with the studios tours - they have their own LOTR vans. Our booking was via a cruise tour so not sure of the operator.

If you are remotely interested in special effects, props, masks, costume design, etc then you'll love it! Our guides were excellent, really enthusiastic about Weta and we learned a lot of inside stories about how the props/masks, etc were designed and how the industry began in New Zealand. Flabergasted to learn how few extras were used on LOTR... I loved it. An unexpected bonus was to be taken to where some of the early scenes were shot and the reasons behind the location - OK not flashy scenes but really interesting to hear stories from someone who was there. To get to some of the scenes involves a steepish path so some of the group opted out - it wasn't as bad as it looked though.

As I said, make sure you book the right tour and you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Interesting look at the behind the scenes work carried out by the designers and craftsmen/women who help create the wonder of the movie industry. Weta studios have played a many part in some amazing movie productions, spanning over many many years. Keeping their skills and knowledge local, they can completely outfit an actor withoit ever meeting them for sizing. Such talent. Thunderbird studio visit was awesome. A close up look at various sets and how they were made.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing afternoon on the There and Back tour, thank you Weta workshop ... the thunderbirds tour was an absolute bonus. The passion and creativity of the teams in Miramar is a must do to experience whilst in Wellington

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews