We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
180
84
17
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
84
17
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomliving roomrun hostelbig kitchenpukekura parkfresh towelsthe cottagesfelt like homecommon areasbunk bedscleaned dailythe wi finew zealandhome away from homeclose to townplace to stayother guests
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Great shared living and dining spaces - including a fireplace in the lounge! Perfect atmosphere following a hike up Mt. Taranaki. The hostel must being doing something right because everyone we met were extremely friendly, social, and open

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandPaulaB, Owner at Ducks & Drakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We love the fireplace during winter AaronM and agree that it is perfect after a day of hiking or exploring this wonderful region. We provide the facilities that we think is conducive to "friendly, social and open" but it is guests like you that contribute to it being so. It was great to have you as a guest... thanks for the review. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Second time we have stayed here. Friendly and helpful as ever. No problem that we were two quite wet and soggy bikers. Great atmosphere with the other guests. Off street parking. Large well equipped kitchen. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cloudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandPaulaB, Owner at Ducks & Drakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Cheers Cloudy M. Nothing we wouldn't do for two "wet and soggy bikers". Looking forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

great location next to big supermarket and food places, short walk to cbd, living room with fireplace, big furnished kitchen, very friendly and pleasant owner, nice and cozy room, loved it, totally recommend

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykhailyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandPaulaB, Owner at Ducks & Drakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Cheers Mykhailyna M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

If you are looking for quality backpacker / budget accommodation in New Plymouth, then look no further. A very homey, comfortable and friendly hostel, complete with comfortable dorms, big kitchen, sun room, garden and cosy lounge with real wood fire in winter.

The owners are friendly, great fun and very helpful.

An ideal place to base yourself whilst exploring New Plymouth, town center is a 15 minute walk with all supermarkets and amenities very close. Egmont National Park is only 45 minutes drive away. Very easy to book a mountain shuttle, if you don't have your own transport.

A terrific place to stay, I will be back!!

Ben, Yorkshire, England - May / June 2018

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ingleborough724m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandPaulaB, Owner at Ducks & Drakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Ben. We couldn't have written a better review ourselves! Glad it all went well for you... see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I can just agree with all the other good reviews.

There is one negative thing though. When you stay there in winter it can be a little cold. Every evening Brad made a fire so it got warm in the evening but during the day it was a little cold sometimes.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank AlexanderT2598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettandPaulaB, Owner at Ducks & Drakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Cheers Alex. And hey, it gets cold in winter here in New Zealand. Gotta move around a little to keep warm when the fire isn't on during the day. Or hang in the fully heated dorm rooms. The fire is a late afternoon, night thing... or a really miserable rainy, cold day thing. Hope you are doing well and it was great to host you for that week or so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews