We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
29
42
63
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
42
63
29
36
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Being more expensive than the Hilton in Taupo we expected a bit more. Lovely staff and great restaurant but the room was small and the bed even smaller. Six foot two plus wife does not fit on a double bed if you plan to have a good night's sleep. Lots of noise from outside air conditioning units and whatever else.
Lovely bedding and although some bits of carpet are getting tired everything looked and smelled clean.

Room tip: Lots of lovely restaurants in walking distance.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidv6397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyceleen Morton, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Hamilton City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,we will look into for more improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

I'm so glad we're only here for one night. Lift is broken, room is horrible, ugly decor, bathroom is a broom closet it's so small with a big step into the shower but no railing. The bathroom door needs to go back to the 1960's (see photo).Non existent security, doors don't have locks and you can hear other doors slamming all down the prison-like hallways. Rowdy guests started yelling and bumping into the doors and walls for the last hour, called reception and initally told there's nothing they can do about the disruptive guests despite it being part of their code of conduct but they offered to move US at 10pm after we unpacked hours before these drunk idiots arrived? Second time we called someone was apparently sorting them out but nothing much has changed. The reception area is minimal, bit of a maze to get from the carpark. First in first served for parking aswell but its free and secure which along with location of the hotel are really the only positives. Oh and the receptionist was lovely too (Maori male?) and the room is clean (if you can ignore the stained toilet and stray hairs around the bathroom). But I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Maybe only as a last resort.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Stay478995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyceleen Morton, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Hamilton City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,we will look into for more improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Serious makeover taking place. Great bargain for location.
We booked a suite which is at the back of the hotel down a Veritable warren of hallways. Big tv, good wifi, open shower, super comfy bed with crisp linen. It would appear that the refurbishment is taking place across the hotel so it feels a little disconcerting having a modern couch and lamps on worn tv cabinets, next to old curtains and then a dilapidated shower head.
Staff are welcoming and helpful, the place is going to look very sharp in the future

Room tip: Take a suite at the back
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvinspoonful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2020

This place was a disaster! The room are tiny compared to the pictures, the parking provided by the hotel are terrible. You part in a very crammed parking lot.
The hotel claims the room are soundproof, I could hear the next door shower, the next room when they came in drunk at 4.00am and all the yelling from the night clubs down the road. The AC was super noisy so we had to turn it off cause we couldn't sleep.
I wouldn't come back, even for one night.

The only good thing was a location if you want to go out to town on a Friday night.

Room tip: Dont stay here if you want a quiet comfy night.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RonsTravelsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Room bright and clean. Did not expect to have to step up to bathroom and again into the shower but this no doubt because it is an old hotel room that has had the bathroom added later and the step up holds all of the plumbing underneath. Bathroom was also on the small side. Staff helpful and friendly. Lots of eating places all around the area. Excellent location.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyceleen Morton, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Hamilton City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,we will look into for more improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews