We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Booking.com
Expedia
Trip.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,537)
Filter reviews
2,537 results
Traveller rating
1,202
922
292
64
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,202
922
292
64
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky city hotel fortuna restaurant valet parking central location new zealand great room room was large checking out the heart of the city mini bar late check buffet breakfast queen street auckland concierge orbit harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,537 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2021

Not my usual choice of Hotel however with the Airport hotels in Covid use we decided to stay in town before catching a flight early in the morning.
Stayed here 12 years ago. Clean, good service, comfy bed. Good gym. The pool is long gone sadly :(.
It has nothing on the Grand but hey, its not meant to be on par with that market leader. Would we stay here again? Possibly.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear Zane C,
Thank you for making time to give us a review on TA. We are delighted that you did choose us for your recent stay in Auckland.
Thank you for mentioning the gym as we have just upgraded the equipment. :-)
I am pleased you enjoyed our customized beds. They are really super comfy indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you and the family back soon.
Take care.
Warm regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect when i was booked in here for work.

Icy (on the front desk) set the tone for a great stay when he accomodated my requests for a room away from any noise. So grateful for the room i got.

The room was immaculately presented each day and even meeting the house staff in the corridors with their friendly "hellos was lovely too.
Great amenities too. Loved the shampoo and conditioner.

Room service meals were...delicious.

My little bits of feedback.

1. I found the loud music quite full on around the reception area. But thats probably the casino vibe...which this country girl wasn't use to.

2. Not keen on the secret lights hiding behind the pillows. It took me ages to find them. hahaha!

3. Would have liked the power socket in between the beds to be higher...or at least white so you can see it better. (Sorry, to the house staff, for pulling the plug on the clock. I just couldn't see that there were two sockets)

Hot tip: Underground Parking. Try and park near the lifts marked Atrium. (In the centre) The theater lifts will take you to the other side of the block away from reception.

Well done to all the team.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Dear Katsolo,

I was thrilled reading your feedback - thank you so much for the lovely comments about Icy, the house staff and your in room service. I have forwarded your comments them.

Thank you also for your "little bits of feedback". We always take feedback very seriously and try to make changes wherever possible.

What I can do in the meantime:-
- I will check with the Entertainment Department about the level of sound in the Lobby.
- The secret lights in the headboard looks like it is here to stay, so I'm glad you found them.
- Great suggestion about the plug casing to be white instead of black. I can ask.

Thanks for the tip on the parking, it can be a challenge for some, including staff.

I am so happy that you decided to book your work stay with us. I hope we get to see you more often.

Take care.
Safe travels.
Warm regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Reception area has a severe lack of seats for waiting patrons.

Front desk staff did not know that PayWave could be used to pay for rooms meaning I had to go outside in the freezing winter night and find an ATM to withdraw cash to pay my room bond.

The rooms were great and discrete. However the view was lacking.

Economical room rates for the location and room quality. Bed furnishings and room ambience were great.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amour_fou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Dear amour_fou6,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that you delighted in your room and our central location.
I do apologize that you were inconvenienced in any way and were caused some discomfort during your stay.
I have forwarded your comments regarding the lack of seating in the reception area to our Hotel Manager to see if it's possible to add more.
Just to clarify about the PayWave payment, we do accept PayWave payment for the room, buy not for the pre-authorization of the security bond payment. I am sorry that you had to brave the cold to draw cash from an ATM when we do have ATM's on the Casino level located on L2.
I do hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.
Take care.
Warm regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Received a voucher to stay at Skycity tonight, and unfortunately do not see us back here anytime soon. From the outside, Skycity looks to be the heart of the city where everyone wants to be, however the Skycity Hotel is anything but.

In a single night we have encountered an incorrect bedding situation (booked for twin room and received a single king), a faulty AC/heater that stays at a balmy 22 degrees, dirty carpet and a TV that malfunctions every 10 mins and needs turning off to reboot.

Luckily we've only needed to stay the night, however I imagine customers paying an arm and a leg for what should be wonderful accommodation won't be receiving their money's worth.

With it being my second time staying here and not much improvement to the experience, my advice to Skycity is this: Quality customer service is EVERYTHING.

The devil is in the details, and if you can't show care to your customers over the little things, then the big posturing gestures won't matter either. A friendly inviting welcome, access to extra bedding in the room, adequate elevators, a thorough system for cleaning, willing helpers at the other end of the phone -- these are the things that take what is status quo in accommodation to the next the level.

This is no way a dig to the staff who have to do an often thankless jobs, but the powers at be who run this show really need to self-reflect in what it takes to run a great hotel, as they are currently aligned with the trope that NZ customer service is not up to par with the rest of the world.

My plans to come back here over the next several months are now detered, as I will seek out alternate hotel accommodation when coming to the CBD moving forward. A real shame.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lalakiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Dear lalakiss,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.
Whilst it was disappointing to read it is important for us to receive feedback so we can continue to improve.

I wish to apologise on behalf of the team at SkyCity Hotel. We have a strong team that takes pride in its work and we truly value everybody who chooses to stay with us.

We would love to be able to reach out to you directly in order for us to investigate and ensure these things do not happen in the future.

Please feel free to email our Rooms Division Manager, Willie on email - William.Surya@skycity.co.nz

We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

SkyCity Hotel is convenient in location and have some great restaurants surrounding it as you would expect for a Casino. The concierge / valet service is on point and the rooms are comfortable.
But imagine this… it’s 11pm, you pull back your sheets after a long day and find stains on them. Understanding that missing detail happens you call the duty manager, who advises he will send someone to fix the issue.
30 mins later, you are still waiting, so call again. The usual apology occurs and he advises some will be up. 10 mins pass and there is a know at the door, a staff member offers 2 sheets. You stand there confused.. “do you think I am changing sheets in a hotel I paid $260 a night for” you think.
After explaining he reluctantly enters the room to change the sheets and leaves the pillows in a state of what can only be described as “couldn’t give a…”
On checking out at 11am, expect long queues of 20mins, because apparently management don’t understand their peak times and think one person on a desk is fine.
There is a lot of opportunity for improvement in management and service. If you can see past this, you might enjoy your stay.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank G_Wintle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Surya, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Kia ora G_Wintle

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Feedback is of upmost importance to us and it is only through such feedback that we are able to improve our service, our products and the attention to detail.
Thank you for your feedback on our location, the concierge/ valet team and the room.
However, I was most disappointed to read about your rest of your experiences and we are taking this feedback seriously. We would like to extend our apologies to the condition in which you received your sheets, the service from staff member attended your room, few follow up calls that should not happen and one receptionist during peak hours was unacceptable. Rest assured this has been addressed with the teams and my sincere apologies to you.

Having investigated each area, we have had conversation with the staff member who delivered the sheet, is currently under training and certainly one to improve. We are at a loss to understand the issue with the sheets and our Executive Housekeeper wishes to convey her apologies to you for the issues you encountered. We certainly look into a way to avoid a queue waiting.

I have every confidence in our team here at The SkyCity Hotel. We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service and I know that the team have handled the situation to their best of abilities and by way of apology offered you a special rate on your future stay. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly at William.surya@skycity.co.nz

Best regards,
William
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews