We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY”
Review of Hochi Mama

Hochi Mama
Ranked #15 of 4,219 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Located in an iconic Melbourne laneway, Hochi Mama is a fun and relaxed restaurant/bar serving up modern Vietnamese-inspired street food. Expect interesting interpretations of traditional classics, as well as more contemporary Asian Fusion menu items. In the bar, highly-experienced mixologists offer an exciting cocktail menu designed especially to compliment the food. Located near ample parking, trains and trams.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous restaurant. Good service and great cocktails from Terry behind the bar. Entree and main for lunch for only$19 pp. 3 of us shared our selections and loved it . Will be returning for sure . Dont know anywhere else in the city and serves this quality food for this low price. Thanks so much....I'm hooked.. Margaret

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 468margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much Margaret!
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time to dine here. We had absolutely amazing small dishes; beef spring rolls, dumplings, and fried chicken. And thank you Mollie for making those recommendations and your excellent service!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank napa6307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you had a great time Napa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First timers at Hoochi Mama and it was a blast. After walking past previously and seeing the buzz, I booked for a date night with my partner (a week in advance).
We got the dinner special for 2. 2 ‘smaller’, 2 ‘larger’ and 1 side for $59. It was fantastic value and the food was amazing.
Our host Kaya was excellent, he gave us some fantastic recommendations which we ended up taking up and getting the scallops and curry, both fantastic.
Great cocktails too.
It was very busy and loud but you’ll understand why once you eat the food.
Overall had a great time. Will be back

Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you had a good time Matt!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Two of us went here before a show on Friday night. We were seated quickly at a communal table, and the service was fast all night. We were in and out within half an hour. We took advantage of the $59 deal - two small plates, two large plates and a side. This was more than enough food for us. It was delicious and there were several vegetarian options.

Thank Jacinta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hope to see you soon, thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

3 of us for Saturday lunch. Had the "I'm hungry now" and everything of the 3 starters, 3 large and 2 side meals we picked was amazingly beautiful. Amazing flavours and fresh clean tastes. Loved it all and the wine was a lovely accompaniment. Thanks to our great waiters Kaya and Flo who provided great advice and service.

Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mama loves you too!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hochi Mama also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hochi Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing