We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Always”
Review of Conservatory

Conservatory
Ranked #186 of 4,581 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: Step into the opulent surrounds of Conservatory, Melbourne's finest and most indulgent buffet destination for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and afternoon tea. Located in the heart of Melbourne’s Southbank, Conservatory offers a diverse and exciting spread of international cuisine to inspire and delight every palate. With it's stunning Yarra views, marble floors and lavish décor, Conservatory is as much a feast for the eyes as it is the stomach. No bookings available for breakfast, walk-in only. Afternoon tea, lunch and dinner reservations are essential.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Always a pleasure dining here. The lobster is always popular and they have it on tap! all the dishes are great. I suggest you try to book in advance as early as possible and also try to book the later session.

It is a little more expensive then the Langham’s buffet, but you get what you pay for.

Thank Harjit Singh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2018

Been to this place for lunch a few times and was satisfied. I went there for dinner last night and came away totally disappointed with the food overall. It lack freshness, tastes and presentation especially the Indian and Chinese sections. All the hot food sections were not topped up until guests were scrapping the bottoms and service dishes were looking totally disgusting. Pre-prepared Peking Duck pancakes were terrible. Out of 8 pancakes taken by our group, 6 were made with very very thin single strip of duck and 2 with only a couple strips of spring onion and a small dot of Hoisin sauce with NO Duck. All were made in a hurry with absolutely no dedication. Overall food standards were well below standard compared with other buffets around. Having been to Harvest Buffet at Sydney Star Casino a week ago and in comparison Harvest Buffet was very much better overall. For the price per person charged for dinner in comparison Conservatory was a Massive and Huge overrated unfortunately. For the dinner price per person, you are paying for the very good customer service in which I appreciated and enjoyed but nothing else. 2 stars for a good customer service. First drink on the house and subsequent charged for a buffet. Only tap water flow freely....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 883ccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRestaurantsGM, General Manager at Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, 883ccan.

We take pride in delivering exceptional dining experiences, and I am disappointed to learn we did not meet expectations on this occasion. Rest assured your comments have been shared with the Restaurant Manager for review.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a more enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,
Oliver von Brunn
General Manager – Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The food was very good quality and the variety sufficient for all tastes. Fir the price ($125 per head), I don't consider it great value. The ombiance and decor are excellent as is the outlook over the Yarra River. Great for a special occasion. Table layout is not well suited to a large group.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkO2798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Pros
Great ambience mostly on the inside
Clean
Attentive staff
Seafood is included (oysters which i enjoyed)

Cons
Too pricey for the limited variety of their cuisines

One of the female receptionist doesn’t give enough information- i was booking for the same night and have asked what the menu could be, i was told “it depends”. I ddnt question further as I thought it was dumbfounding. Our table was placed near the exit and i felt like receptionist did not really mame an effort to tell me that our table will be isolated from the great ambience inside despite expressing it was a special celebration. I could have booked it on a different day to make the most of it.

The taste of the food was average. Some are considerably expensive on outside restaurants so defs worth a tick for your bucket list.

Thank alyssaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRestaurantsGM, General Manager at Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, alyssaina.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the Oysters and our attentive customer services during your recent dining experience. But am most disappointed to read we were not able to meet your full dining expectations on this occasion. I will ensure your feedback is shared with our Restaurant Manager for review.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near furture.

Sincerely,
Oliver von Brunn
General Manager - Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Went for my fathers 80th there was 16 of us, food was awesome, fresh seafood getting topped up regularly, But drink service and prices through the roof $13.50 for sparkling water wow, anyways drink service average, price per head bit steep but the food was pretty good, cheers

Thank markdorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conservatory also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing