We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to Chocolate Buddha!”
Review of Chocolate Buddha

Chocolate Buddha
Ranked #23 of 4,564 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: In the heart of Federation Square with some of Melbourne's most impressive views, Chocolate Buddha is a Japanese casual dining experience. The menu consists of sushi, sharing dishes, Ramen & Donburi. We cater for vegetarians and have a substantial gluten free section on our menu. We cater for functions for 8 people and more and have great sharing function menus We hope to see you soon
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Had my first visit to Chocolate Buddha about four weeks ago and was very surprised and happy with what I found. Traveling from Sydney to Melbourne to catch up with friends at Fed Square, I was introduce to this funky restaurant which is Japanese fusion with a touch of Chinese and Korean. Sitting at communal tables, I was very happy with wide choice of food and outstanding service. Will go back there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolate B, Manager at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you Steven B , we LOVE your review, all our strengths in 1 paragraph. We strive for intuitive service w/ fresh, unprocessed food in a top location. We look forward to hosting you again when down from Sydney.

All the best - Team Buddha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Great food, location, service.
Special gf menu ... yay.
Delicious.
Choose inside or out.
Very happy we chose this restaurant.
Much appreciated for our coeliac family.

1  Thank Rosiered94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolate B, Manager at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello Rosiered94

Yay - a restaurant that really understands the GF diners . We are sooooo happy that you wrote this review as we take ALL allergies, intolerances and requirements very seriously and serve guests with ease and professionalism. Heres to many more GF meals @ Chocolate Buddha. All the Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Had a wonderful family lunch sitting outside on a beautiful sunny day. Service was top notch (thanks Devon?), food was excellent and the ambience was relaxed but efficient at the same time.Will be back to try different dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonytG9853CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolate B, Manager at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Gday Tony

Isn't Devan a little treasure, we find that we hold onto our staff as they are managed with LOVE. Devan is a great advocate for our business and we are chuffed that you picked up on his energy on the night you dined with us. Heres to many more visits @ Chocolate Buddha. Thanks again Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Went with my family and in-laws. Pleasantly surprised by their many gluten free, vegeterian and vegan options, all clearly marked on the menu and the staff was very helpful taking their time explaining the options. So nice when we find a place that can cater for all our different food habits & allergies.
The food was absolutely delicious and it was such a nice and relaxing atmosphere we ended up sitting there a couple of hours and having some of their yummy desserts.
Everyone’s food was absolutley amazing and felt very fresh and satisfying.
A new favourite!

Thank Glutenfreeveggiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolate B, Manager at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Gday Glutenfreeveggiemum

How good is your review, we printed and placed it on our staff board for all staff to read. Thank you for your kind words and we LOVE that we can easily serve all manner of dietary requirements with ease. Hope to look after you again soon , here at Chocolate Buddha. All the BEST.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Whether you’re in a rush on your own or you can savor the afternoon to kick back with a bunch of your best friends, do give this excellent Japanese cafe restaurant a look!

The attention to details & customers by Lucas & his crew will have you surely coming back. Extensive menu, vegetarian & true gluten free choices means no worries at all in catering for strict vegetarians & coeliacs!

Sit outside & watch the Fed Square crowds go by - always fun!

Great bar selection too!

Fresh & tasty! If you’re from out of town or Melbourne is your hometown, do check it out!

Thank StrongSkinnyLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolate B, Manager at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello StrongSkinnyLatte

We LOVE your review. We adore Lucas and his team and really appreciate reviews that just state all our positives in 1 quick paragraph. Fed Square is lots of fun to people watch watch the sun set in the western sky. You are ALWAYS welcome back @ Chocolate Buddha Latte drinker. All the Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Buddha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chocolate Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing