We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good just short of excellent ”

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 115 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Our 3rd time on the tram and including tonight the food and service were excellent. Peter and Mora could not have done more to make you comfortable. However on previous occasions including tonight they have advertised two beers on the beverage list. Cascade light and Crown Lager. However tonight they replaced Crown Lager with a beer called Furphy which is a boutique/craft beer unsuitable for this environment. Unpleasant!Otherwise a great night and good value.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank peterbC3441PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food and the service, and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Peter and Mora.

We have recently changed our beverage menu to offer Furphy instead of Crown Lager. Due to the space restrictions aboard the tram we can only carry a limited selection of beverages, and so far the comments that we have received about this change have been overwhelmingly positive! We always appreciate receiving feedback, especially from returning customers such as yourself, and your comments about the change of beer will be discussed at our upcoming management meeting.

Once again, thank you for sharing your reviewwith us. I hope we will see you aboard again soon.

Kind regards,
Caroline | Reservations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"early dinner"
in 212 reviews
"tram car"
in 158 reviews
"chef john"
in 69 reviews
"chef dot"
in 47 reviews
"course meal"
in 91 reviews
"dining experience"
in 67 reviews
"cooked to perfection"
in 46 reviews
"st kilda"
in 181 reviews
"special occasion"
in 71 reviews
"unique experience"
in 112 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 53 reviews
"panna cotta"
in 45 reviews
"wonderful night"
in 32 reviews
"albert park"
in 43 reviews
"food and wine"
in 50 reviews
"melbourne experience"
in 45 reviews
"visiting melbourne"
in 74 reviews
Filter

234 - 238 of 5,114 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2018

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Reservations Consultant at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Lived in Melbourne for nearly 35 years, must say Tramcar restaurant is not something ever crossed my mind. Last year a friend gave me a gift voucher as a birthday present, finally got around booked in for a early dinner with my family.

On board, every inch is covered in red velvet and retro lamps, remind me of Agatha Christie's Murder on Orient Express setting. Although the dinner menu is not trendy, offers Chicken or Steak like your standard wedding reception, is actually pretty good, Chicken was tender, Steak not over cooked, still rare in the middle. Wine, beer, basic spirits are included in the price.
Service was exceptional, from the minute we arrived at the tram stop to the end, everything runs like clockwork, our French waitress Celine was friendly and super efficient, I am impressed with the whole expreience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank shtarker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Reservations Consultant at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi shtarker2016,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Celine.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Erin | Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Reservations Consultant at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing