We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Providoor for Ruining Christmas!!”
Review of pastuso

pastuso
Ranked #118 of 5,001 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: The thrilling food of Peru by Chef Alejandro Saravia, including a ceviche bar, parrilla and pisco bar.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Planning Christmas meals for weeks through Providoor but now, when it’s time to finally order, two days before Christmas, checkout says the ‘restaurants are fully booked’. Polite person in customer support says to look at a very skinny list of other restaurants.

It’s Christmas, so had honed in on two delux restaurants to splash the cash. They’re still listing menus (unlike some that have considerately removed their menu), one is even listing Christmas cakes and hampers! All email and site messaging from Providoor says order by 4pm for deliver on 23rd. Everything looked good to roll.

Thanks Providoor for ruining my orphan Christmas.

Don’t be fooled by the long list of restaurants on offer. At least three of the finer dining restaurants appear to have pulled out over Christmas and well into January and two of those are still listing menus - Providoor Christmas window dressing.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Montheroad2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

The food and drinks were absolutely terrible, I was with friends and open to a good experience but in my opinion the food was bland, old, uncooked, served like it was toxic waste by the wait staff, very unfriendly and unprofessional, I have never had such a bad dinning experience, would far rather have got a counter meal at a dodgy pub and been abused then eat here for the price of the experience, I hope they close down, un-australian values and definitely not Peruvian cuisine as I have enjoyed amazing food in Peru. Please do not book here, this is a rubbish venue, no excuse for serving up rotten food

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 784ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2020

Came here for dinner, hidden gem make sure you research the area on google otherwise you won't know about this place (unless you're told about it), this is absolute value for money, a few sides and a main plus drinks for both of us and we were done. Everything tasted incredible, the spices on some of those dishes were sensational.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoshGalanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

We had a family celebration and selected a number of fine dishes- the ceviche and tiger milk was an excellent starter option, but the barbecue chicken and the rib-eye was one of the finest I have had in a long while. A bit pricey but it is well worth it.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Reinhardt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastusoMelbourne, Other at pastuso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Hola Reinhardt, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Pastuso.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our ceviche with leche de tigre and our signature smoked and roasted Bannockburn chicken.
We hope to host you again in the future

Gracias
The Team at Pastuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Great service, good food and wine. We tested the Chef Menu for the two of us with a great selection of plates to share. Only regret though is this Chef Menu did not include any beef. So I guess we have to to come back.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rachono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastusoMelbourne, Other at pastuso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Hola amigo, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
La Seleccion del Chef changes daily, we look forward to seeing you again!

Gracias
The Team at Pastuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed pastuso also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to pastuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Hong Kong SAR
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.