We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,759)
Filter reviews
1,759 results
Traveller rating
1,061
591
79
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
591
79
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern cross station tram stop petite queen room green credentials great location free wifi boutique hotel skybus terminal small hotel brick wall sky bus coffee machine spencer st station lounge area included breakfast comfortable bed etihad stadium
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,759 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We have been to the Alto a few times and are always welcomed at reception with efficiency. Apartment was very comfortable and bathroom fully stocked. Location wise for tram access is excellent. We chose to eat out most of the time during our stay but the eating area is quite adequate though rather small.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feline47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Well appointed hotel very close to Spencer Street station and on the tramline so access all over Melbourne is easy. Could barely hear the trams though we were at the back of the hotel. Rooms are quite small but reflect the price. Bed was awesome - I should have bought one - and the whole place was very clean as far as we saw.

Bourke Street mall is about 500 metres and there are plenty pf restaurants and pubs handy. Short walk to Docklands - about 10 minutes for us - and access to the freeway is good so the taxi to the airport did not get caught up in inner city traffic.

Booked online and completed when we arrived. All staff seemed very friendly and as mentioned above for the $ it was good value. Continental breakfast is $16 or full for $19 though we ate out so cannot vouch for that.

Has cutlery, cups, plates, sink and all the necessaries but not microwave - bit weird as there is a space for it but what can you do.

Bathroom was tiny and nearly took my knuckle skin off on the shower door but the shower was hot so that made up for it. Great TV with all Foxtel channels and heaps more if that is your desire.

All in all a good few days and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The rooms were thoughtfully renovated, with a small, but clean bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast area was also small, but with a good menu selection as well as a basic breakfast buffet. Both the night and day staff were friendly and the service helpful, making for a short but enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms have openable double-glazed windows, so it is easy to block out the city noise if you wish.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and love the ambience of this place. Small but efficient rooms in a classic building just a short walk from Southern Cross station.
I was upgraded to a suite for my very short stay which was lovely. However when the teams started in the morning it was very noisy and not what I remember from all my previous stays -
Perhaps an issue with the lower floors?
Also a great business hotel. Since thy only do brekkie and dinner, I was able to get a lot of work done after checkout in the foyer - proper tables, excellent wifi, tea/coffee and fruit.
Can't really ask for more

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ashanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just one night and arrived very late. The hotel is very close to the skybus station, just 200 meters, so no need to take a taxi.
Our room had a small kitchen and was clean.
Service was good. We had a 1 hour later check out.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank adfrajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews