We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Perfect location for my business trip in the heat of Melbourne CBD.
Rooms were excellent, lots of free Foxtel channels that other hotels don't provide. Clean and modern. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
12  Thank Lou185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2016

In Melbourne for three nights for work, I took a Queen studio overlooking Langs Lane. Size is fine for a short work trip or for one person, if staying longer with two people I would ask for an apartment. I am currently sitting in the room now and there are roadworks directly outside the hotel but I cannot hear them at all. It has been very quiet every night so far.

The decor outside the rooms respects the heritage of the building, which made me worry that the room may be old and weary, so I was pleasantly surprised at the clean fresh decor of the room. The AV is excellent with full Foxtel and FreeView channels and the ability to stream from your phone to the TV. The wireless speed is good and free.

The bathroom is small but not squeezy, and very clean. The bed is by far the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel, and I have slept very well.

The highlight to me are the staff. I tend to be a bit long winded yet never felt like I was imposing. Very helpful, well informed and relaxed. Unlike some of the more expensive options, they exemplify an Australian trait of providing great service without ever being subservient, creating a very relaxed atmosphere.

Free tea/coffee in the lounge, and free apples in the lobby, are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Overlook the lane and towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Paul-and-Loretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I travel regularly to Melbourne for both business and pleasure, so it was a little sad when my normal hotel was too full to get a reasonably priced room. I booked this through QANTAS and received a smallish Queen room which was perfect for my one night stay by myself.
I asked for a quite room and got it - facing a lane-way on the side of the building, and combined with the double glazing - had no noise at all.
The only possible downside was a slight chemical smell I guess from cleaning the bathroom - but otherwise it was a really nice room - spot on 4 star and everything you need.
The beds were very good and all in all, I had a good sleep and would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the laneway so are good options for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LovesAWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff make this an excellent choice for our needs. Despite construction work literally right outside the building we slept well thanks to sound-proofing on the windows. The breakfast deal in our accommodation package was good value, and any-time access to good tea and coffee in the foyer was an added bonus. The hotel's commitment to sustainable choices is refreshing and appreciated.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
10  Thank miamazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My wife and I stayed at Alto for 4 nights and were impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The room was very clean and in great condition and the staff were extremely helpful in dealing with any issues and providing information on trips and Melboune as a whole. The location was great - right outside was a tram stop that was in the free travel zone. Breakfast was very good and a welcome bonus was the tea/coffee available throughout the day. Would definitely recommend friends and family coming to Melbourne to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank BShah789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
859 reviews
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
8,766 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#44 of 162 in Melbourne
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: HK$884 - HK$2,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, WingontravelTA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing