We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
259
452
181
64
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
452
181
64
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swanston street tram stop rooms are small free tram zone coat hangers comfortable bed the ground floor early check short stay great shower queen vic markets per night short walk wi fi tea and coffee convenient location public transport
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Booked Dec.2014, for 8 adults and 2 kids, via Booking.com at this hotel. Four double rooms, and in one room two extra beds for the kids. The booking was confirmed by Booking.com for the quoted price of $ 872.00. Arriving at the hotel, 20 July 2015, we were told that the two extra beds for the kids was not possible, and our only choice was to book, an extra, double room for $248.00. When we told the staff that we were not very happy with the extra $248.00 over the quoted price they told us more or less, take it or leave it, because it was an fault from Booking.com. Booking.com, after we made a complaint, told us we should not have booked the two extra beds, because this was not possible. My point is; why did they confirm, and why did they not tell us that this booking was not possible. Booking.com is blaming us and Tune hotel, Tune hotel is blaming us and Booking.com.
Who is the looser?
A very unhappy family.
Regards, Martinus van Walsum

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 724martinusv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Hi 724martinusv,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Unfortunately we do not provide extra bedding in our property. This is stated on the booking.com website and across all of our booking channels - there is no option to add extra guests or bedding. We can only provide free accommodation to children under 5 years old when they use existing bedding. Your booking was confirmed as 4 double rooms for 8 guests.

I do apologise if this affected your stay with us and we do hope you will consider booking with us again.

Kind Regards

Rachel Kierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I love this hotel. Its very close to the main CBD, very cheap, and the service is always so friendly. Rooms is small, but always incredibly clean. Can get cheap rates of approximately $80 during the week. Reception staff are very good, professional and knowledgeable. Siobhan was particularly helpful. It is very close to many main attractions and food places like Lygon st. Will continue to stay here whenever I am in Melbourne!

Room tip: Choose a higher floor for less noise
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jbabs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Hi Jbabs7,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Tune Hotel Melbourne.

Its great to hear we are your 'go to' Hotel for all stay's in Melbourne.

I will be sure to pass on your excellent feedback to our Housekeeping and Reception teams.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for another great value stay.

Kind Regards

Rachel Kierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The rooms are small but modern and clean, and it's possible to get a good night's sleep here as it's quiet. The location of the hotel is great too. I was able to walk all around the CBD, Up to the Victoria markets and to Lygon street. It's also within Skybus' hotel shuttle service range which made getting to and from the airport a breeze. All in all was delightfully surprised by this little gem of a hotel. Would defs come back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sarai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Hi Sarai M,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Tune Hotel Melbourne.

Its wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to many of Melbourne's best restaurants and attractions.

Its lovely to hear how clean and quiet you found the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Kierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Chose this hotel after comparing rates on hotel search engine. Very happy with the price. Room is new, clean, comfortable. Loved the big shower head of bathroom. Likely to come back again. Good location in the city. For the deal that I bought, it comes with few wifi for 24 hours (perfect for business trip). The only downside is no kettle for making tea/coffee.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Traveladdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hi Traveladdic,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Tune Hotel Melbourne.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our great value Hotel. We pride ourselves on our fantastic facilities, including our luxurious power showers.

For your next visit we do have a boiling water station in the ground floor.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Kierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Great location, quick and easy check in/check out, really helpful staff, clean rooms and bathroom, comfortable bed, convenient, cheap, warm inside when it was freezing out (good air-conditioning)!
The only fault I had was that hand soap was not provided in the toilet. That is the only annoying thing that I found. Everything else was great :)
I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room tip: Higher rooms have less tram noise
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hi Darian L,

Thank you for your lovely review of Tune Hotel Melbourne.

Its wonderful to hear you found our rooms clean, comfortable and warm.

For your next stay there is hand soap in the towel and toiletries pack which can be purchased from reception.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Rachel Kierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews