We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks on Market(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks on Collins(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
612
396
96
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
96
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Two lots of two nights in Melbourne allowed us some time to enjoy the atmosphere of this vibrant city. The Clarion Suites Gateway was in an ideal position to explore by foot, tram or train. The facility has all one needs to be comfortable and relaxed and the staff are exceptionally helpful in assuring your needs are met.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carol,
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne and that our rooms and service met your expectations.
May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.
Kind Regards,
Viviana Lama
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Surprised that the hotel was so nice. Location (william st) is ideally suited for walking into "town" and/or southbank. The hotel is located opposite "southwharf" on the other side of the river. My room was well presented, had a mini kitchenette. Staff were very good and helpful. I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank FenderStrat-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, it has indeed been our pleasure to take care of you during your recent stay with us, your patronage is appreciated. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, location and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel next time you visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Viviana Lama
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This is a very busy hotel (only two lifts so can wait awhile at peak times) with friendly reception staff. The rooms are clean and a good size with full size windows to make the most of the Yarra River views.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location, staff and the fantastic views of the Yarra River and the Casino from your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.
Warm regards
Viviana Lama
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a lovely weekend in a one bedroom apartment. We chose to pay a little extra to book a river view and it was so worthwhile. The views were stunning. The location was excellent and so close to everything. Our apartment was quiet, pleasant, clean and well-appointed. We found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend Clarion Suites. We will undoubtedly return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Oggies543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne and that our rooms, location, service and views met your expectations.
May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.
Kind Regards,

Viviana Lama
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

booked this hotel 2 months in advance emailed the hotel and asked if both my sister and i could have rooms close to each other, and asked for a late checkout,when we checked in my sister got an upgrade which was great but she was on the 17th floor and i was on the 6th floor, pretty close to each other........not!! we asked to move closer to each other but the response was sorry not available, still not sure why she got an upgrade and i didnt when we booked at the same time?? but it might of made sense if we got closer together after 4 emails requesting this??? my sisters room was a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen lounge etc....that she hated she wanted a hotel room with a king size bed??? i got a room with a terrible view of a roof and that small i couldnt swing a cat in it !,(will say very clean though) but thats was ok i just needed to sleep in it. we went out for dinner on the first night and then to the casino on our return to the hotel in the lobby there was a young lady asleep (intoxicated i assumed) on the lounge, i quietly spoke to the reception to say you should probably cover her up as it wasnt appropriate for herself or the hotel customers to see her like that, (showing her breasts)i assumed she was a little drunk and waiting for a cab, he advised me she sleeps on the couch most nights but she is not homeless? so i asked the next time i stay here i wont need to pay ill just sleep on the couch , or can i get a refund this weekend if i sleep on the couch next to her? i went to my room, the following afternoon i was having a drink in williams bar outside and there was an incident with a man in the lane way next to the hotel, the receptionist ran inside and locked the door so he could not enter then called security , it was a little concerning that he locked us out with a man that was clearly outraged at something and then a poor elderly lady was advised to walk to the other entrance up 5 steps with a walking stick??? after asking staff for the 5th time about my late checkout availability a very nice man by the name of Ben said that i could have a late checkout on the Sunday at 1pm, then to be knocked at the door at 11am and be told i needed to get out as they needed the room to be cleaned??????
not sure what they are running at the Clarion suites but i wont be staying there again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Emma

Thank you for your post.

This weekend was a bit unusual with the aforementioned activity, generally it is more sedate in this location, though it is regrettable that you experienced this.

Based on your comments, I would like to outline certain aspects that pertain to the booking process.

Both bookings were made through different Travel Agents, therefore, the same room type or conditions would not apply, hence different rooms were allocated.

We do take all request very seriously, however, we will not guarantee a request, such as same floor allocation, simply for no other reason than at times this is not possible.

The room that you were allocated was for a standard room with a king bed, a view room over the Yarra River & Casino was not booked nor requested.

Unfortunately, the guest on the sofa may have had a bit too much to consume, therefore determining a room number may have proven to be a challenge, this does happen in hotels from time to time when celebrating, I do apologies that this concerned you.
Over the last few years as stated in the media, Melbourne has been confronted with unfortunate Sleeping Rough person(s), in the CBD.

Local as well as State governments including benevolent organizations have been effective in providing dignified community outcomes for individuals that require this support, though, at times due to mental & substance abuse hotels as well as local businesses need to address this matters as best as possible, as in this case, we simply closed the entrance door due unruly behaviour by this person.

At the time our team thought that this was the best method in addressing this matter.

Regrettably, your late check request was not made available to our housekeeping team, Ben does extend his apologies as well.

I do hope that the related circumstances as cited have been clarified so that we are in a position to restore your confidence in our service, may I thank you & your sister for staying with us.

Kindest regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews