We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$124
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$225
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
612
396
96
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
96
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I've stayed here twice. It is very comfortable, some suites are like mini apartments. Beds are super comfortable. The staff are wonderful, very helpful and informative. Good restaurant and bar. The location is brilliant, close to the free tram stop and not too far from Federation Square. Would definitely stay here next time I visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: River view studio suites are good.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiBi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I stayed a couple of nights for work and the hotel was decent. The staff were friendly and helpful. One of the two lifts were out of commission but that happens. But the rooms were nice and clean. The location was excellent right by the river and easy for meetings, taxis or to walk.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance, therefore we do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lift repairs.
Thank you for your comments in regards to our rooms and location. We hope to welcome you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Clarion Gateway is a perfect place to access highlights of Melbourne. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with river view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The attentiveness of staff is second to none. This has now become our 'go-to' apartment when visiting Melbourne from the country.... oh and they have onsite parking as well!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank petriefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to receive your feedback, we subscribe to the principal of being honest and open, so that the spirit of service is achieved, by way of endeavouring to instil the appropriate service values in our team. Our primary objective is to fulfil and exceed your expectations and it is pleasing to read your comments in regards to our service.
We appreciate that you enjoyed our location, amenities and rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This was an excellent hotel. Rooms were like apartments, with separate bedrooms, a living area, a large kitchewn and washing machine. Service was very friendly. Coffee was good downstairs in the cafe. newspapers delivered to the room each morning. Modern and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank MarkLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Mark,

Your review is very much appreciated, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and service.
Thank you also for your positive comments about our coffee, our Food & Beverage team are delighted to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Stayed here in a one bedroom apartment. The location was very central for shopping and dinning. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Beds comfortable. The staff were friendly. Throughly enjoyed our stay here. We ate breakfast in the onsite restaurant which was very nice. The dinning room is light filled with a lovely view. The food was good and big portions.Coffee lovely. We used the car park which was reasonably priced at $27 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Clarion Suites Gateway during your recent visit to Melbourne.
We have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Southbank, Southgate and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer.
Thank you for your positive comments about our beds, staff and coffee, these are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews