We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Melbourne Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
612
396
98
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Clarion Gateway is a perfect place to access highlights of Melbourne. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with river view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The attentiveness of staff is second to none. This has now become our 'go-to' apartment when visiting Melbourne from the country.... oh and they have onsite parking as well!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank petriefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to receive your feedback, we subscribe to the principal of being honest and open, so that the spirit of service is achieved, by way of endeavouring to instil the appropriate service values in our team. Our primary objective is to fulfil and exceed your expectations and it is pleasing to read your comments in regards to our service.
We appreciate that you enjoyed our location, amenities and rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This was an excellent hotel. Rooms were like apartments, with separate bedrooms, a living area, a large kitchewn and washing machine. Service was very friendly. Coffee was good downstairs in the cafe. newspapers delivered to the room each morning. Modern and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank MarkLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Mark,

Your review is very much appreciated, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and service.
Thank you also for your positive comments about our coffee, our Food & Beverage team are delighted to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Stayed here in a one bedroom apartment. The location was very central for shopping and dinning. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Beds comfortable. The staff were friendly. Throughly enjoyed our stay here. We ate breakfast in the onsite restaurant which was very nice. The dinning room is light filled with a lovely view. The food was good and big portions.Coffee lovely. We used the car park which was reasonably priced at $27 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Clarion Suites Gateway during your recent visit to Melbourne.
We have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Southbank, Southgate and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer.
Thank you for your positive comments about our beds, staff and coffee, these are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Strategically located at the corner of William St. and Flinders St. Chinatown (around Little Bourke St.) is within walking distance. Suggest upgrade to suites that offer great views of the Yarra River. The only downside is the railway noise. Overall, Clarion is a great place with decent surroundings and views.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wstycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us at Clarion Suites Gateway. It is wonderful to know that we have mostly exceeded your expectations, as this is our primary goal. We are dedicated to constantly improve and enhance our service levels and your positive feedback is much appreciated by our team.
Our River View rooms do offer fantastic views overlooking Southbank and the nightly Casino fireball show (we like to think of it as our own little bit of Vegas!).
All our bedrooms are double glazed, for sensitivity the functionality of the glazing works more effectively when the bedroom door is closed upon retiring.
Thank you so much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We loved our family getaway.
It was a fully self contained apartment with everything we needed for our stay.
Our girls loved the indoor pool too, it was just another little added bonus.
Our view from our balcony overlooked the Yarra River and the awesome Crown fire displays, it was perfect.

Great location. Great price.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
Thank 665pruep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Prue,

Thank you so much for your review and for comments in regards to our rooms, amenities and views. We are an all-suites, full serviced Hotel, our studio rooms are equipped with a kitchenette and our one and two bedroom suites have fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, there’s a room type to suite everyone’s needs and it so pleasing to read that you had everything you needed.
We hope to welcome you and your family back next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews