We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveller rating
987
879
283
96
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
987
879
283
96
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wide corridors loft bedroom beautiful old building great location southern cross station split level railway line service lift grand staircase train noise spencer street old world charm heritage building crown casino double glazing small kitchen full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

It very close from Southern Cross station where the skybus back and forth from Melbourne Airport stops. It's wonderful place to stay. I stayed in an apartment type room. The room is clean, Kitchen facilities are generally good. It cannot be more perfect if I could find a pan with less scratches.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paojlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis-Croke, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay.

We hope you will consider The Grand again on a future visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ian
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Good value for money and in a historic, centrally located building. The trains were a bit noisy as was the aircon but then I come from a rural area and am not used to city noise. The staff were very professional. I'd recommend a stay at The Grand!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JLHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis-Croke, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

Good to read you had an enjoyable stay.

Please do contact the hotel the next time you plan to travel to Melbourne and we would be delighted to help you.

Kind regards

Ian
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Beautiful old building, stayed in a renovated 1 bed apartment. It was spacious and clean. Main issue with the room the Bed too soft for us.

What let our stay down was the restaurant/bar was not open on weekends. But i thought room service was still available. So it was disappointing to find out that room service is not available on weekends either. Luckily there are options nearby.

On checkout the lady who was at reception did not provide very good customer service. Just handed the receipt with no thankyou for staying or have a nice day. A little bit of effort goes a long way.

For the price i would expect abit more. It was pretty much a room and thats it.

So overall clean and acceptable but nothing rememberable and worth while to return unfortunately.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunnymum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis-Croke, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and providing feedback on your stay.

We took the decision several months ago to close the restaurant on weekend evenings as we found there was just no demand by our guests to eat in, this also applies to room service.

We are in a great location being close to Southbank so plenty of options available within a 10 mins walk.

I am sorry that the service provided on check out did not meet expectations.

We hope you will consider The Grand on a future visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ian
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Lovely hotel and apartment very clean and spacious, the down side was the noise from the trains which was quite loud especially at night. The service we got from reception and room service was brilliant.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E6904TApaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis-Croke, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ian
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Great location; close to trams; close to shops; easy to get to where you want to be. Airport skybus one block away so easy to get to. Apartments lovely and it was great to go back again - I have stayed at The Grand a number of times.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ambassador735127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis-Croke, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ian
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews